We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average, French with am Irish accent” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chez Max

Chez Max
1 Palace St., Dublin Dublin 2, Ireland (South City Centre)
+353 (0)1 633 7215
Improve this listing
Ranked #607 of 1,890 Restaurants in Dublin
Price range: $37 - $147
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: South City Centre
Veldhoven, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Average, French with am Irish accent”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We eat in France very much, but Chez Max was not completely the French taste what we expected. The duck - canard was OK, but the chicken with pilaf rice and sauce was not good, dry chicken, white rice, almost no sauce, disappointing.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    87
    27
    6
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Small French Bistro”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Located beside an entrance to the Dublin Castle complex. Went for an early lunch. Off hand service. Tightly packed tables. Food not as good as I had enjoyed previously in it's sister restaurant in Baggot St. It has a pleasant atmosphere reminiscent of similar type Parisienne bistros though a lot more expensive. Expect it could be great fun for a boozy crowded dinner party.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A big disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I went there to find the nice food of my country i was missing.. but my experience was close to a diner in a cheap motorway cafeteria. The ad at the door saying 'Chef wanted, experience required' should have warned us on the quality of the food: 'Lapin à la moutarde' tastes like plastic and the chocolate dessert seemed to be taken out the freezer 2 minutes before coming on the table..
The interior design is authentic but tables are so close that you have to be careful not pushing your neighbor when cutting your meat.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Nice food, reasonble prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

It's a good restaurant for French food. The food is simple and well done, and the staff are friendly, the restaurant has a nice atmosphere too...

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issaquah, Washington
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect French Lunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Thought this place would be too touristy being next to the Dublin Castle, however two locals stepped out and said it was fantastic. We agree! Great small lunch spot. Food and ambience were both a hit!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Max also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Chez Max? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chez Max, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.