We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant for whiling away the hours” 4 of 5 stars
Review of la paloma

la paloma
Dublin, Ireland (South City Centre)
Improve this listing
Ranked #946 of 1,795 restaurants in Dublin
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: South City Centre
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great restaurant for whiling away the hours”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I have spent many hours here - brought back mostly by the cod starter which is sublime.

The restaurant is big, airy and comfortable and the staff are very friendly. They don't forget about you - they just you leave you be, and there is a lot to be said for that.

While companions have had food from the mains side of the menu and raved about it as they took what they couldn't eat home in a doggie bag. I have never left the expansive array of starters and sides.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

59% Recommend
    19
    21
    12
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberystwyth
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Happy birthday Richie!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

Tidy place and easy to find a seat.
Good prawns and tasty rice! A good unusual mix of Irish Spanish.
Thanks lads for a good quick and easy bite to eat

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice staff, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We went here with a friend on a friday at around 8 pm. The place wasnt crowded, but there were enough people to make it comfy and pleasant. The wines are great, and the seafood is fresh and well prepared. I would say maybe even better food then what you would get in a Spajin. I absolutely recommend it!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Isles
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We ate here several nights in a row as the food was lovely - portions were very generous - and the staff were really nice and friendly. One of us has an allergy and there were no problems checking ingredients in dishes. We mostly had fish tapas and also the paella with rabbit etc; everything was lovely.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“It made us uneasy that we were the only ones there at 8:30PM”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

We went here on a weeknight at 8:30pm and there was no one else there. That is always a scary feeling that can color your experience but we decided to try it. We started with a few tapas and 2 glasses of Rioja. The wine was OK and a pretty good value, I can say my knowledge of Spanish wines is not up to par. We then had some croquettes and the tortilla. The tortilla was OK but the croquettes were mushy and flavorless. We decided to call it quits at that and headed to a different restaurant.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed la paloma also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to la paloma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage la paloma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.