We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pearl Brasserie

Pearl Brasserie
20 Merrion Street Upper, Dublin 2, Ireland (South City Centre)
+353 (0)1 661 3572
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #112 of 1,883 Restaurants in Dublin
Price range: $37 - $74
Cuisines: French, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: South City Centre
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I had lunch here with colleagues very recently. I hadn't been here before and went on the recommendation of a friend. Our food was delicious from start to finish. It was great to see steak tartare on a menu. The service was prompt and friendly and we even had time for coffee before returning to work. Would highly recommend for a business lunch. The only downside was that I didn't have an opportunity to sample the wines! SD

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    255
    104
    37
    20
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good Food - great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Me and my mom went to Pearl Brasserie by accident on a Tuesday night.
They weren't that busy and because is only a table for 2, we got a table immediately.
Staffs were friendly to us.
service was good.

they do a set menu of 25euros per person - 2 courses
starter and main
3 options per course
Main options are: chicken, Hake and Risotto

no service charge for us but just like other restaurants, you might be expecting to pay service charge over a certain number of people.

Atmosphere were good.
Dresscode: smart casual would do
don't need a jacket/blazer nor suits

food was excellent! this restaurant could potential earn a michelin star i think.
they still have a fair bit of works to do before they could achieve it but defo have the potential to be starred.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

This place has all the feeling of an extremely high class restaurant without the crippling prices. We chose from the set menu, all the dishes were well presented & tasty. Don't overdo it when ordering accompaniments for the main courses as you should leave room for pudding. It wont disappoint. Service is timely, friendly & unobtrusive. Good selection of wines but limited beer choice.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Tickles your tastebuds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Went to the Pearl with a business group of about 10 people for lunch. We knew from the first step into the restaurant that this was going to be a great place. The service was first-class and our waiter was extemely attentive.He suggested several wines to get us started and we took him up on a red and a white, both outstanding. I started with an appetizer of tempura shrimp that was breaded nicely and had a tasty asian mix in the bottom that really gave the shirmp a kick. Next, my wife and I had the pan-seared rib eye steak. As one reviewer mentioned, don't expect huge cuts of beef. But the rib eye was cooked perfectly and was extremely tender. Also, because of the large group, the waiter brought us family-style pots of Irish stew, fries, peas and carrots. All were delicious, especially the Irish stew.
We ended with an outstanding cheesecake and a member of our party ordered the melting sphere to chocolate. It was one of the most unique deserts I've every seen. Definitely give it a try.
It was a bit pricey, but well worth it. Walked out satisfied, but not stuffed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“A pearl indeed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

It had been far too long since H and I last visited Pearl Brasserie on Merrion Street, directly across the road from Government Buildings and next door to the Merrion Hotel. The restaurant is located in a basement, but it's more warm coccoon than cold dungeon. We had lunch on a Monday and the place was fairly busy so I'd advise to book ahead.

We decided to go for the set menu at 25 euros for two courses. Some might feel that's pricey, but for what you get I think it represents excellent value. I had lobster bisque to start and fish and chips for my main. The fish and chips was a lot better than it sounds and was a gorgeous piece of cod in a deliciously crunchy coating. H had crab to begin and then a divine chicken for the main.

If you come to Pearl, you can't leave without trying the desserts. H had the vanilla creme brulee which is a constant on the menu, no doubt by popular demand! It is the best creme brulee I have tasted anywhere and that includes France. I had a Valrhona chocolate cake with black truffle ice cream which was completely sinful.

Service was French and friendly.

With a bottle of sparkling water, our total bill came to just under 70 euros. Not cheap, but well worth it. We hope to be back again soon.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pearl Brasserie also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Pearl Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pearl Brasserie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.