We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wouldn't go back” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Toscana Restaurant

Toscana Restaurant
3 Cork Hill Dublin 2 | South City Centre, Dublin, Ireland (Temple Bar)
+353 1 670 9785
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #153 of 1,820 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $19 - $38
Cuisines: Italian, Steakhouse, Seafood, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Temple Bar
Description: Toscana City Centre recently awarded the Good Food Ireland Best Grow It Yourself Restaurant in Ireland. Ideally located in the heart of Dublin with a view towards Dublin Castle on the edge of Temple Bar. Toscana takes inspiration from our organic gardens in Co Wicklow to bring the spirit of Italian cooking into our kitchens right here in the City. At the heart of Toscana lies a celebration of food that is fresh, natural and unpretentious, elevating traditional and modern cooking into flavours our customers love. Our chef/Proprietor grows home-grown fruit salads vegetables and herbs from his family farm-house in Co Wicklow and brings to Dublin City Centre fresh daily by the seasons. Toscana has become an icon for pre theatre diners great family gatherings. From couples to groups, corporate to friends. There is a seat for everyone in our farm to table restaurant. Buon appetito!
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“wouldn't go back”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

It was an alright restaurant. I had booked a table and when I got there I said it to them and they didn't ask for my name or anything which is ok seeing that we did get seated straight away. one of the first problems I noticed was normally when you are in a restaurant only one waiter serves a table but here at least three people came over and asked the same thing. The starters came out fine and when it came to the mains there was a bit of confusion the waiter came with two steaks which we did not order and asked a few times if we were sure they were not ours. there were four in our party and three mains came out and they asked if that was all we had ordered but we were still waiting for the fourth one. Food was quite nice but small portions so was a bit disappointed because I was starving. They took away the plates after and never asked for a dessert menu so I had to ask for one. The staff were very nice but there seemed to be a lot of confusion and had to ask for many things without them asking us first.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
damestreet, Guest Relations Manager at Toscana Restaurant, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review, it is reviews of positive or constructive nature that we welcome and always seek to rectify when a problem occurs. We are delighted that you enjoyed your food and disappointed that our customer service was not up to standard during your visit to Toscana City Centre. Saturday evenings we always have two food runners working as waiters tend to tables with drinks, orders and other guest requests. So the other staff that came to your table were food runners. Previous to your arrival two guests seated at your table bumped into friends across the room and asked to join them, this freed up a table and left less pressure for reservations. This couple had ordered steaks and the order was printed on your table number. Although the chef was informed of this table transfer and had called the correct table number, the food runner saw the original docket and felt very sure of the table number for steak. We are very sorry this had happened, we have made the waiters and floor managers aware of this to ensure this cannot happen again. Please email damestreet@toscanarestaurant.ie so we could have a chance to make it up to you, as we are confident if you return to us our service will be to its best standard that we are know for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    293
    137
    52
    24
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ballitore, Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great early bird value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Group of 7 went pre-theatre on Wednesday evening. Menu and choice was excellent. 2 courses for just under 18 euro. Real buzz in the place and no rush to get us out quickly eventhough there was a que for tables.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Wonderful evening at Toscana”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

First time at Toscana last week - servers could not have been more attentive. Antipasti platter for two was phenomenal. The seafood risotto was loaded with mussels, calimari, and shrimp - a wonderful dish. We were not rushed thru our meal, despite the crowd, but were encouraged to take our time and enjoy our food. It was a great experience. Would most definitely return to Toscana.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athlone, Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Overpriced and very average food quality”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Only went to this place as Salamanca was booked out.

Starters was fine, can't really go wrong with cold starters. Salad was fresh and nice (that's a huge compliment as I'm not a salad fan).

Mains was terrible. The steak was overcooked and extremely hard to cut down. The wine sauce was too strong for a dish such as steak. There was no balance to the meal whatsoever. Wine was just ok.

Dessert wasn't great but certainly wasn't the worst.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
damestreet, Public Relations Manager at Toscana Restaurant, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review, the restaurant next door which you mention in this review has ceased trading since your posting. There are many restaurants in Dublin where food was too cheap and hense cannot sustain their costs. We re sorry you feel we are overpriced, we have always been known for our reasonable prices. Our early bird is 17.95 for two courses, Our A La Carte main-courses start at €13.45 for a pasta dish Spaghetti primavera and we go up to €23.95 for steak or Venison Steak which is average prices in Dublin. These steaks are of superior quaity and our supplier also supplies The four seasons with the same steak cuts. Verification may be sent to you if you email us. If your steak was cooked too much for you we apologise, it is our policy to replace it or refund it if you do not wish to eat it. It is important for all guests to inform us at the time when a lot can be done for you. Our Sirloin and Fillet steaks do not arrive with a wine sauce. Perhaps you ordered Venison, which is a very popular dish and is traditionally known to require a stronger sauce due to the gamey flavours. We would like you to email us on damestreet@toscanarestaurant.ie so that we can try to make it up to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Nice Italian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

We had pasta and it was fine. Not heavy for the stomach. Good price. You should go if you had enough of paninis

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Toscana Restaurant also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Toscana Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Toscana Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.