We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Millstone Restaurant

Millstone Restaurant
39 Dame Street, Dublin Dublin 2, Ireland (South City Centre)
+353 1 679 9931
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #133 of 1,797 restaurants in Dublin
Price range: $20 - $34
Cuisines: Irish, Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: South City Centre
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Found this restaurant after wandering the strrets of Dublin on Halloween and what a find. The food was absolutely fabulous, plenty of choice and very good sized portions. Would have loved a pudding but could not finish the main course. Will certainly go again and would highly reccomend

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    178
    93
    19
    16
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Creative”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We spent a week in Dublin and ate here three times. The location is convenient, the food is beautifully prepared, very creatively presented, and delicious. Service was very friendly and timed well.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I went here with my family last week for a special occasion. We were absolutely blown away with the quality of the food. 3 of us shared the 'sharing plate' as a starter, which came with 5 or 6 delicious, homemade dips and lovely bread.The only problem was that the portion was quite large and we had to force ourselves to stop eating so we would still have space for the main courses. The other person in our party got a duo of duck terrine and pate, which he said was amazing. I got the goat's cheese and roast veg Wellington for my main, which was one of the best meals I've had in a very long time. I became vegetarian recently, which has definitely made eating out more difficult, but i thoroughly enjoyed this meal. The other main courses went down very well also. We were all too full for dessert, but enjoyed some lovely coffees. The service was excellent and I will definitely go back!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

My first dining experience with Millstones was over 1.5 years ago during my first visit to Dublin.
Business has brought me back to Dublin where I have yet again found myself dining at the lovely Millstones Restaurant!
Its not the delicious succulent beef medallions, or perfect recommended Spanish wine, or the relaxing gentle live music that took me back to Millstones, it was the service.
In hospitality the turnover of staff is always high, but as I entered and barely waited to be seated there was the same staff as was 1.5 years ago and they were just as pleasant and efficient and knowledgeable of the menu as the first visit.
I will most definitely recommend Millstones Restaurant, I thoroughly enjoyed the food, wine, music and the lovely relaxing and intimate atmosphere Millstone captures.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Diarrhea inducing lunch special”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Tried the lunch special today at the millstone.
Party of 3, relatively simple order, 3 mains from lunch special menu.
Left waiting over 40 minutes for our food, although the place was not particularly busy at the time, maybe 6 other tables in service.

I had the lasagne.
Failed to finish it as I had a strange taste around halfway through.
Felt a little ill before leaving but felt embarrassed to say anything to staff.
Felt very ill within half hour of leaving and then threw up a little and later this evening I had diarrhea.
Will not be back.
Terrible food, wish to report it to health inspector but unsure of how to go about it.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Millstone Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Millstone Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Millstone Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.