We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly Good Italian Restaurant in Central Dublin” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dunne and Crescenzi

Dunne and Crescenzi
14-16 South Frederick Street, Dublin D2, Ireland
016759892
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #260 of 1,886 Restaurants in Dublin
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Fairfield, California
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Good Italian Restaurant in Central Dublin”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

The three of us had dinner here because it was close to our hotel. Originally we were going to hike to another restaurant that was highly rated, but on a lark we walked in and sat down for something different than pub grub.

It turns out this is an Italian restaurant run by Italians. The food was very good and the wine selections nice. It also looks like you can just but wine here. We had lasagna and gnocchi for dinner and bruschetta, olives and mozzarella for starters. Everything was very tasty and prompt. The only down side was that our server spoke little English and had to ask others for help. Luckily we speak some Italian so in the end it worked out fine.

What made this a great place to eat was the parade of locals in one colorful form or another. Pretty diverse and entertaining!

This is a very good place for some quite decent Italian food while wandering around this chee chee part of town.

Cheers!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    172
    53
    28
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hoddesdon, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Really nice meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We visited this restaurant on our 2nd evening in Dublin. Our first night's meal had been amazing so it had a tough act to follow. The staff were really friendly and attentive. We were in Dublin for our 25th Wedding Anniversary and the waiter brought us over a glass of champagne each on arrival, which was really nice of them. The food was lovely and the portion sizes were good. The atmosphere was relaxed and it was a lovely evening.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wish we could have stayed longer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed at Trinity Lodge and had dinner here one night. Great staff. Great food. We had to eat and run - my only regret!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare, Kildare, Ireland
1 review
“BEST COFFEE EVER....AND MOUTH WATERING FOOD”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

I had my lunch at the Kildare Branch. The pear and goats cheese salad was beautiful, the dressing of honey went down a treat. Followed by a mouth watering pastry. Followed by a "proper" coffee, not to be messed with. Over all a really nice lunch with a great atmosphere and excellent service.....Ill be back. Thanks Guys

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCO
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stumbled upon this restaurant in Dublin because another little Italian place we went to near Merion Square could not accommodate our party of 5 and had no interest in letting us have a cocktail while we waited for availability-so off we went and found this place! The staff was friendly and knowledgeable and the food was fabulous! Bruschetta was a fresh and wine selection divine.
Were with friends who like to share and every entree was a hit!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dunne and Crescenzi also viewed

 

Been to Dunne and Crescenzi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dunne and Crescenzi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.