We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Culinary oasis in Dublin City” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Mere Zou

La Mere Zou
22 St. Stephen's Green, Dublin 02, Ireland (South City Centre)
01-661-66-69
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #75 of 1,843 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $35 - $111
Cuisines: French, European, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients, Special occasions, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: South City Centre
Description: A few yards away from the Shelbourne, the Conrad and the Fitzwilliam hotel, La Mère Zou was opened in 1994 and specializes in Classic French Cuisine; we also offer a large selection of fish and seafood selected directly from the local fishmarket. At La Mère Zou you can relax in a warm, familial atmosphere while enjoying the very best in cuisine and service. Our unique decor and simple seasonal food have made us a byword for fine dining in the centre of Dublin.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
218 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Culinary oasis in Dublin City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

This intimate French restaurant in Dublin's city centre is a real treasure. My wife and I have been lunch regulars for years. We have never ever had a problem and we have nothing but praise for the establishment and the very high standards of service, cuisine and wine. And desserts are divine. That basically says it all.

La Mere Zou does what it sets out to do very well indeed and the standard is consistently high. As a result the place is very popular with the locals like ourselves so don't forget to book in advance. The wines are especially good. My favourite is the Julianas, a cru de Beaujolais of excellent character and quality: and it is great value at the modest prices the restaurant charges. But the house wines are above average in quality also.

There is always a varied choice on the menu and the specials, again at a modest supplement, are worth looking at. Sometimes you have to struggle to read what's on the blackboard, but, hey, who cares when you get to my age!. Look out for the French Onion Soup, simply delicious! And, when they are on the menu, the scallops. But really when all is said and done, everything the restaurant presents is delicious. And, by the way, the staff are warm, courteous, caring and very friendly. My advice. Don't go at all, unless you are willing to come back for more!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at La Mere Zou, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
From Eric Tydgadt, Owner of La mere Zou: Thank you for your very appreciated and generous comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    274
    131
    28
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
356 reviews
264 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 318 helpful votes
“Fine Dining in St Stephen's Green”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

I've eaten here three times now and it never disappoints. Good for both Business purposes and also romantic occasion's.

The place itself is located in the ground floor of a wonderful Georgian Building on St Stephen's so its very convenient for the Merrion,Conrad,Fitz-William and the Shelbourne.

Although the food has always been splendid I do like their use of local,Irish ingredients in the Menu. French with an Irish twist and well done to them for it.

My suggestion is to book ,as its not an enormous place, to make sure you get a decent table.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at La Mere Zou, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
From Eric Tydgadt, Owner of La mere Zou: Thank you for your comments, and yes it is always advisable to book. this can be done via our website: http://www.lamerezou.ie/
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlow, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“excellent early bird”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

a good choice of vrey tasty food served professionally by pleasant staff who knew which dish was ordered by each person when it was served to table ,no asking who had what

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at La Mere Zou, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
From Eric Tydgadt, Owner of La mere Zou: Thank you for your very welcome review! Please come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great French Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

This is a lovely small french restaurant with everything just as it should be. The food was great, the staff were friendly and polite and the service was professional.

The menu is concise but it caters for pretty much every taste; you can be a little adventurous or conservative as you wish. The table d'hote is excellent value and we would've chosen from it except we wanted the john dory with langoustine risotto (for me) and the magret (for himself). However, the the a la carte isn't necessary expenive. I'd consider it midrange but the quality of food is definitely superior compared to similar restaurants. The wine list is extensive and caters for all budgets.

Without a doubt this place is definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at La Mere Zou, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
From Eric Tydgadt, Owner of La mere Zou: Thank you for your very welcome comments, we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best French restaurant in Dublin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

The menu here is always quite limited, but each and every item is superb. It is the best French restaurant in Dublin, and very reasonably priced. Tables might be a little close together for intimate conversation, but they are trying to separate them. Excellent.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at La Mere Zou, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
From Eric Tydgadt, Owner of La mere Zou: Thank you for your very welcome review; don't forget that we have an extensive range of specials on our blackboards everyday and these can be substituted into our early bird menu too. So the range of dishes is really very large.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Mere Zou also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to La Mere Zou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Mere Zou, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.