We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bijou Theatre” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gaiety Theatre

Gaiety Theatre
South King Street, Dublin, Ireland (South City Centre)
00 353 (0) 1 679 5622
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 217 Attractions in Dublin
Attraction details
Ashbourne
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Bijou Theatre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

More like a theatre club than a grand theatre. Comfortable and homely. Everything I seek in a place of entertainment

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    58
    17
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yellowknife, Canada
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
71 attraction reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
194 helpful votes 194 helpful votes
“Beautiful venue in the heart of Dublin, interesting modern shows”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I’ve visited The Gaiety less than two weeks ago to watch The Woman in Black and it was fantastic! The theatre itself is rather smallish with beautiful vintage decor throughout. There’s a pleasant quiet bar where you can have a snack or drink (you can also pre-order drinks for the intermission), the toilets were very clean and there’s also a cloakroom, but for some reason it was closed during our matinee show. I found the seats to be comfortable and you shouldn’t have any issues unless you’re a really tall person. We were sitting in the Dress Circle, which is the first balcony, at the side of the stage (Row B). It seems that most seats in Gaiety would give you a good view of the stage, but they do say that Dress Circle offers best seats. From the looks of it I wouldn’t like to be sitting in the Upper Circle which is very high up on top of the Grand Circle (2nd balcony), so maybe try to avoid it if you can. The only thing I didn’t like about the Gaiety was the fact that they sell sweets (M&Ms which are crunchy) and popcorn and loads people were eating during the play, very rude I thought. Anyway, it was a great experience altogether and I also found the Saturday matinee tickets to be cheaper than the evening ones.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
60 attraction reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
187 helpful votes 187 helpful votes
“no plastic glasses!!!!!!!!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

went to see Woman in Black, The production very good was. I was with friends and went to the bar for a drink. Some had coke or a glass of wine I had a pint of Guinness which I sipped as previously one could bring drink in plastic containers supplied but was told that this is no longer allowed. So lots of people left drinks behind, not good

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Once .... well worth the wait!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I was originally meant to see this show on Broadway in New York last November whilst over to supposedly to do the marathon but Hurricane Sandy had other ideas on both counts but thats another story!

Six months on managed to pick up tickets at the very last minute for the Saturday matinee show in this beautiful intimate theatre which I have been to on numerous occasions before. Incidentally if you are going to a show in this theatre try and get seats in row A of the Dress Circle, fantastic position and views of the stage.

Wow what a show! Now I know what all the hype in the States was about and why the show won 8 Tony awards. So-so good, the story, music, singing, acting and so well put together. Finished its run in Ireland last night but suspect that given the rave reviews and standing ovation it will no doubt return, in the meantime now moves on to the West End in London, so if you get the chance just go you will love it :)

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Once .......again !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Last Tuesday we went to the Gaiety to see Once We loved it. Loved the Film and enjoyed the Show every bit as much. We had booked for a Saturday but because I double booked with a rugby match we ended up going on Opening Night. Fantastic to see Mr. Glen Hansard appear (very briefly) on stage at the end. Mr. President was there too along with other Celebs and their Mammies. This is just a lovely story and mixes all the emotions. The songs are wonderful and the cast are a talented bunch who put in a great Nights work - some Shows start late but this one starts 30 minutes early. Do yourself a favour and get along to the fabulous Gaiety.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gaiety Theatre also viewed

 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Gaiety Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaiety Theatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.