We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delish” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bijou Cafe Bistro

Bijou Cafe Bistro
47 Highfield Road, Rathgar Village, Dublin, Ireland (Rathfarnham)
00353 1 4961518
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #926 of 1,795 restaurants in Dublin
Price range: $20 - $34
Cuisines: European, French, Bistro, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Rathfarnham
Description: Bijou Bistro is home to a relaxed Dining Experience. Open 7 days a week from early until late. Simple Bistro cooking using the finest local ingredients give us the opportunity to tempt and delight you. Our Outside Terrace on the 1st Floor offers you one of the most stylish terraces in Dublin, should you wish to dine outside or have a cocktail.Bijou has twice been awarded one of the Irish Hospitality Industry's highest honours, the prestigious "Hotel & Catering Review Gold Medal in 2008 and recently in 2011.Dine with the locals - Bijou Bistro, Rathgar, Dublin 6.
Cavan, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Delish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I ate here with my girlfriend for Valentines night, the food was smashing. The mashed potatoes were out of this worlds and the steak just melted in my mouth, wine was delish and desert was amazing. I will be a regular and cant wait to get back again. Great value for money

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

68% Recommend
    60
    36
    20
    17
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nice meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Went for dinner on Friday evening, there were 7 of us. We were sitting at 4 round tables pushed together which was not the nicest way to sit for a meal.
Had the bread and dip this was lovely had 3 to share 2 would have done.
I then had the scallops they themselves were tasty but the mush they were sitting in was a bit tasteless.
I followed that with blaze of beef this was very tender and served on mash, do order a side of veg though for your greens!
A carafe of the merlot was priced a €17 and was a reasonable wine.
Only one desert was had the trifle and was described as ok.
The Irish coffee was a bit of a disappointment a bit cool and served in a wine glass not nicely presented and nothing to write home about.
Over all may be a 31/2 stars some good bits and some not so good.
If going in larger group ask about seating as not recommended the small tables pulled together.
Service good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“We'll be back!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We were brought to Bijou to celebrate a 'special' birthday. Despite our hosts not having been in the restaurant for c2 years, they were greeted by first names - the reservation had been made with surname only. A good touch! The service was friendly and attentive, and the food was delicious, with perfect portion sizes. One party group occupied c50% of the restaurant, and a large group will always make more noise than the same number of people spread over a number of tables in a relatively small space. That said, this was not too intrusive. Complimentary 'After Eight' Digestifs were VERY enjoyable!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Average and expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Dined recently in Bijou, rathgar for the third or fourth time. Each previous experience left me feeling that it was okay/ fine. Never felt strongly enough that I would want to return. My most recent experience was somewhat the same. I found that the menu was well written but the execution of the dishes a bit over fussy and in my own choice a tad clumsy (Veal burger). The service whilst very pleasant was ver slow. It was exactly one hour from sitting at the table to getting the main course. We did not have starters. That being said this is clearly a very popular restaurant. It has a very nice feel to it and it is spotlessly clean. So perhaps I have been unlucky.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant,food...not really”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Not friendly staff, as per food we were waiting too much...prices are not high but poor quality. Bathroom...was very unclean...maybe because was Saturday? I woudn't go back anyway...sorry for no tips guys...bye

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bijou Cafe Bistro also viewed

 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Bijou Cafe Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bijou Cafe Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.