We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meah..” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bijou Cafe Bistro

Bijou Cafe Bistro
47 Highfield Road, Rathgar Village, Dublin, Ireland (Rathfarnham)
00353 1 4961518
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #871 of 1,889 Restaurants in Dublin
Price range: $20 - $34
Cuisines: European, French, Bistro, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Rathfarnham
Description: Bijou Bistro is home to a relaxed Dining Experience. Open 7 days a week from early until late. Simple Bistro cooking using the finest local ingredients give us the opportunity to tempt and delight you. Our Outside Terrace on the 1st Floor offers you one of the most stylish terraces in Dublin, should you wish to dine outside or have a cocktail.Bijou has twice been awarded one of the Irish Hospitality Industry's highest honours, the prestigious "Hotel & Catering Review Gold Medal in 2008 and recently in 2011.Dine with the locals - Bijou Bistro, Rathgar, Dublin 6.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Meah..”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

So I have been here loads of times but recent family birthdays necessitated two visits in the past few weeks. There is a new head chef on board but I am sorry to report that the food and menu has taken a turn for the worse. Last visit I opted for the posh version of bangers and mash and it was very disappointing. The paltry serving of mash was soaked to death by over rich gravy and topped with 3 burnt rubbery sausages. Previously I had the steak which was very mediocre with a very expensive price tag. On the plus side, the staff are very friendly and efficient but will not be returning again (If I can help it) due to the poor quality of food.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    42
    22
    17
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Diabolical Service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I visited this restaurant last Saturday with my wife and 3 other couples having booked a week in advance.We were seated at 8.45 p.m.We ordered some wine and then ordered our food. At 10.40 we still had not been served our main course despite asking the staff what was happening to our food to be told that"there was one table before us" Our food arrived 5 minutes later and was only O.K.The staff were pleasant and kept apologising. However the evening was ruined.It amazes me how a restaurant can get it so wrong ! They know how many people have booked and the numbers they have to cater for. We paid our bill including a generous tip for the staff who we felt had been polite and as attentive as they could have been but we will all vote with our feet from now on.we will not be returning to this restaurant in the future.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbridge, Ireland
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Really disapointing and expensive”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Where do I start… 7 of us dined, mushroom tart, soggy mushrooms no flavour, black pudding over powered by sauce. Duck with burned rosti, bland fish and the only nice meal was steak. Even the coffee was bad. Hugely over priced. Have been many times and it has dis improved every time, won't be back.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Not great”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Visited this recommended restaurant for dinner. I ordered Fish and Chips (a staple in Ireland). The oil used to cook it was rancid. Don't recall what my husband ordered but it was unremarkable as well. I will say the decor is lovely, and the place appears popular so perhaps we just came on a bad night.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good Food & Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Three of us had a dinner here. We were given a professional welcome.
The menu is limited but had 4-5 choices in each course.
I had a nice starter of chicken and crab meat and followed it up with mains of shoulder of lamb.Both the dishes were very nice especially, the shoulder of lamb. Nice crisp from outside but very succulent from inside. We finished off with some dessert and tea(usual fare of ice cream and pudding)
My only gripe is that the tables are small and you feel little cramped.
But overall a nice restaurant.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bijou Cafe Bistro also viewed

 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Bijou Cafe Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bijou Cafe Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.