We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Double Salmon” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bang Restaurant

Bang Restaurant
11 Merrion Row, Dublin, Ireland (South City Centre)
+353 1 400 4229
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #376 of 1,890 Restaurants in Dublin
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: South City Centre
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Double Salmon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Food here was really tasty and they had a "spare" starter so brought that out for my friend and I to eat as it was goign to waste otherwise! Quite Gastro/fine dining.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    127
    44
    28
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
carlow
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A little pricy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

Four of us dined and had a really nice relaxing meal food was very good but a little pricy for main dishes with no veg only the garnishes which where sparse but tasty
Great wines again a touch pricy
Stii its worth a visit

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“Not worth €138 if that is a genuine price!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Dined here on the voucher from Dealrush at €69 for 2 for the 5 course taster. It was originally priced at €138 but certainly not worth it.??? Must say it was fabulous and well presented. There should have been a menu on the table telling us what was in each course, the waiter/waitress that served each course stated what is was and rhymed it off like a poem so we couldn't remember what was in each dish- this is where the menu would have come in handy! When we were having our dessert we were asked if we would like a coffee and here is where we got stung we had a cappucino and an americano and we had to pay for this! We had a fabulous bottle of red spanish wine at €29 and as soon as it was finished the waiter asked if we wanted another!!! Now that was a bit OTT. We had to pay a discretionary gratuity of 12% after paying €69 for the voucher so you are caught in everyway. Needless to say there was not tip! We paid our bill but the small change that was due back to us was NOT retured to us. On arrival our coats were taken from us but on leaving we had to get them ourselves!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe B, Guest Relations Manager at Bang Restaurant, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed the Taste of Bang courses. Thank you very much for providing feedback for us.We take our guest's comments and suggestions into consideration when implementing changes in our restaurant. We have now introduced a Tasting Menu card to give to all of guests who are joining us for the 'Surprise Tasting Menu.'
I'm sorry to hear that you feel as though you were stung by the cost of beverages and the service charge. The voucher does state that drinks are separate and that there would be gratuity added to the bill. We certainly did not mean to cause any offense and I apologise for any confusion.
Additionally, I would like to apologise for any service oversight. You should have absolutely been given the correct change and then asked if you would like your coats at the end of your evening. I would like to assure you that this has been dealt with by the mangement and the appropriate measues have been taken to ensure this does not happen again.
Thank you again for your comments and feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Ok, just!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

This is a great light and airy restaurant and I have previously been for lunch, but decided to try for a Saturday evening meal. Starters and mains were good. However the desert, 'Cheese of the Day" was a total disappointment. One, yes one, tiny piece of cheese. We thought we would share it, "here is your slice of Dairylea "!!
Amusing to say the least! The entire experience was rushed as if they couldn't wait to get your table back. People beside us were even more rushed as they were bringing courses before the previous ones were finished!
It should have been a better experience but hey ho, didn't let it spoil the weekend.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe B, Guest Relations Manager at Bang Restaurant, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Thank you for submitting feedback. We are always eager to hear comments and suggestions from our guests. I am very sorry to hear that you felt rushed. It is never our intention to make our guests feel that way. The busy weekends often involve several sittings and that was the case over Valentine's Day weekend. I am so sorry if the pace of our service on the evening detracted from your night. The next time you join us we can ensure that you are seated in a relaxed area where you feel most comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

We are big time foodies and often travel to Dublin . Bang was on our list to try . We booked a table at 9:15 and when we booked we were told the previous table had been told they would have to vacate at 9pm. We arrive at 9:10 and were seated in a small waiting area and give a glass of Prosecco which was fine. We were seated at 9:50pm and our starter arrived at. 10:30 , I had soup and my wife had scallops both of which were fine rather than great.
Our mains then arrived at just after 11pm by which time we were tired after a long day and very hungry. The mains were disappointing, my wife ordered the tuna and was told it was just seared would that be ok , she asked for it to be cooked slightly more than seared. It arrived well done and it was a case of eating some of it getting the bill and heading home. They did take the Tuna off the bill but we went out for a nice meal not a free meal.
I sense the problem was Bang being greedy and taking on too many covers and it being about quantity no quality, great for them but not great for the customer.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bang Restaurant also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Bang Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bang Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.