We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but cut down on variety, fewer healthy options” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Yamamori Noodles

Yamamori Noodles
71 - 72 South Great Georges Street | D2, Dublin, Ireland (South City Centre)
+353 1 475 5001
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #429 of 1,886 Restaurants in Dublin
Price range: $4 - $43
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Japanese, Noodle
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: South City Centre
dublin, ireland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good, but cut down on variety, fewer healthy options”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

I am a regular customer and I love this place. Unfortunately many nice little touches have been cut lately. The complimentary green gunpowder tea - cut. It used to be a lovely touch, enhancing the overall experience, and a healthy start of a meal. It was on throughout the recession, and has been cut only now. What a pity! Bring it back!
Another good idea was the information on the menu regarding calories. Cut! What a pity. If you are health - conscious it helps you choose between a light option and a calorie bomb, it isn't always straightforward to know that in exotic cuisine. If you don't care about calories you don't have to read it. I know it is some cost to have that information, but many modern restaurants introduce it now. The menu changes often, but the info could stay at least for the regular items, and there are many such constant dishes!
Another thing I used to love - salads! great salad menu with seasonal ingredients, really healthy and often more interesting than the lunch bento. Cut!
In January most of us look for something healthy and good value.
Hopefully the good things will come back to this otherwise well run restaurant!
The friendliness and efficiency of the staff never ceases to amaze me, and the freshness of the cooking is second to none.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YamamoriNoodles, Manager at Yamamori Noodles, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Hello, we are delighted to hear you enjoy our food and atmosphere. We appreciate your feedback and take your recommendations on board. We look forward to seeing you again soon :)

Yamamori
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    174
    49
    26
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Visiting Yamamori as the area of S. Great Georges St is full of nice restaurants and I like dining there. Came to Dublin for a few days on business. Competent staff very and nice food. Love their miso soup. Always having their Japanese beer, served in small bottles. Very nice one - forgot the name thou. Place not very expensive. Would recommend.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YamamoriNoodles, Manager at Yamamori Noodles, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Hello, we are delighted to hear you enjoy our food and atmosphere. We look forward to seeing you again soon :)

Yamamori
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“great food, great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

I have eaten here a few times and am never disappointed. the food is always fresh and delicious. I had a lovely Nihon Soba-Itame and Yasai Gyoza.The plates are simple but well presented and the service is efficient without encroaching on the experience. A great place for a quick bite and a chat, the cocktails are very good.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YamamoriNoodles, Manager at Yamamori Noodles, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Hello, we are delighted to hear you enjoy our food and atmosphere. We look forward to seeing you again soon :)

Yamamori
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Terrible service, average food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

As an avid sushi eater this used to be the only place to go in Dublin so I put up with the bad service for years. Now there are numerous other way better restaurants I'll never darken the doors again. Service is disgraceful and little things like having to pay extra to replace rice with noodles really annoy me. Yamamori on the quays is better.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YamamoriNoodles, Manager at Yamamori Noodles, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Hi Deirdre

We appreciate your feedback and take your criticism very seriously. We hope that you next visit is a more enjoyable one.

Yamamori
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“New Years Eve treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

4 of us ate in Yamamori on new years eve. We'd no booking but they managed to accommodate us.
The place was packed but the service was speedy and efficient.
The food we ordered was beautiful. 2 of us had the chicken katsu curry, 1 had steak and another had the chicken with honey & soy. There was nothing left over, everything was inhaled. A great meal and a very reasonable night out, the bill came to €133.00 which included 3 starters, 4 mains, 1 beer and a bottle of red wine. Pretty cheap night out, if you ask me :)

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YamamoriNoodles, Manager at Yamamori Noodles, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Hello, we are delighted to hear you enjoy our food and atmosphere. We look forward to seeing you again soon :)

Yamamori
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yamamori Noodles also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Yamamori Noodles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yamamori Noodles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.