We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Fun!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thunder Road Cafe

Thunder Road Cafe
Temple Bar, Fleet Street, Dublin, Ireland (South City Centre)
1-679 4057
Improve this listing
Ranked #822 of 1,995 Restaurants in Dublin
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: South City Centre
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great Fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

American Dinner themed, Load and fun perfect for a group night out. Lots of music and atmosphere, staff were friendly and we received very good service even though very busy. Food was very good, much better than I expected and both food and drinks were reasonably priced. Definitely will go back.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    137
    67
    34
    50
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fun night!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We called in for a drink then ended up staying for the food as the dishes looked really nice. Lots of 80's music & fun quiz on screens. Very busy as early Christmas parties but service was quick & food really yummy!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Looks great but expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Didn't eat here, but had a few drinks in the bar area.
Stopped here to have a rest, after a busy day walking and sightseeing. Had a Guinness and tried a couple of the cocktails. They were very nice but expensive. The bar has some unusual and quirky things displayed along with some song lyrics.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
“Good staff- below average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Called in here when in Dublin as we needed somewhere to feed our 7 month old grandson & this place was next to the carpark. The staff were very accomodating & soon had us settled with a highchair at a table & we were able to get him sorted whilst we chose our own food. Our daughter is vegetarian & there weren't many options for her. She ordered the vegetarian tortilla wrap which came full of broccoli, cauliflower & mushrooms- a weird combination to put in a wrap! She said the sauce was nice but everything else together was just unpleasant! We had burgers which were overcooked & quite tough. The chips were ok. Overall, it was not worth the money it cost. There are much better priced places to eat & we would definitley not go here again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

recently visited this restaurant and was very impressed with the food, the portion sizes were very good, staff very friendly and liked the style and layout of the restaurant also. Its maybe a bit more expensive than other restaurants in the area but well worth a visit if in the area

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thunder Road Cafe also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Thunder Road Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thunder Road Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.