We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where food is art, and the experience is sublime” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thorntons Restaurant

Thorntons Restaurant
128 St. Stephen's Green | Fitzwilliam Hotel, Dublin Dublin 2, Ireland (South City Centre)
+353 1 478 7008
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #322 of 1,886 Restaurants in Dublin
Price range: $61 - $153
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: South City Centre
Description: Thornton's Restaurant is an award winning Michelin starred restaurant located in the heart of Dublin City overlooking the leafy expanse of St Stephen's Green. Innovative and exquisite cuisine, presentation referred to as 'artwork on a plate' and service often compared to a theatrical performance make for a truly memorable experience at Thornton's Restaurant. There is attention to detail in every aspect of the experience, from the intricate food through to the impressive wine list and professional service. Our changing menu reflects the seasonal and local produce available to us and underpins our passion for reigniting the importance of the seasons. Working closely with our providers that supply us with the highest quality of ingredients, we can ensure that our produce is ethically sourced, sustainable and most importantly the best we can obtain. Head Chef and Proprietor Kevin Thornton is widely regarded as Ireland's best chef. Having featured in everything from the Irish Times to the New York Times, Thornton's is celebrated as one of the best restaurants in Ireland and is also internationally commended.
Lansing, Michigan, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Where food is art, and the experience is sublime”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We were just in Dublin last week, and at the suggestion of a local bar tender, we booked an evening at Thorntons, which just happened to be located on the first floor of our hotel, The Fitzwilliam. Our table of 4 opted for the "surprise" tasting menu... an evening of incredible food prepared and served by our chef, Kevin Thornton, who is as a good a story teller and dream weaver as he is a chef. Now I understand why he has a Michelin star... and I am surprised he doesn't have two. It was the best night of food, wine, art, and adventure I have ever shared. From the opening salvo -- a unique, delicious presentation of raw oyster -- through the many courses (too many to count!), our table was taken on a journey of indescribable delight. A real highlight was the pigeon under glass -- pigeon, hay and egg. You must must MUST give it a try if you get to Dublin. Bring your appetite, your sense of adventure... and your wallet. But as expensive as it may seem, I can definitively say it is worth every penny.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kamthornton, Guest Relations Manager at Thorntons Restaurant, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent review about your experience at Thornton's Restaurant. It was our pleasure to look after your group on the night. I am happy to hear you all enjoyed the 8 course surprise menu,it is very popular among diners. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Dublin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    40
    31
    17
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Incredible”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This is truly one of the gems of Dublin. When you first walk in the staff are attentive and friendly. You can tell you have arrived in a michelin starred restaurant. Food was beyond belief. Mr Thorton thanked us for coming which was a lovely touch
Very reasonable mid week if you get the pre-theatre menu

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kamthornton, Guest Relations Manager at Thorntons Restaurant, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Guest. Thank you for your recent review on your experience at Thornton's. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your meal. I will pass on your kind words to all the staff here. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous food & service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Had lunch here on a sat afternoon with friends. From start to finish had excellent service including the head chef coming out and serving a few of the courses and at the end of the meal coming out for a chat. Would definitely go back to this restaurant !

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kamthornton, Guest Relations Manager at Thorntons Restaurant, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your lunch at Thornton's and we are delighted with your lovely feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaghan, Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good, but not great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Had lunch here mid August, on a Thursday afternoon. My starter, Calamari and my main course - the braised Angus beef were fantastic, the beef the best I've ever tasted but desert was a real let down, I had the tarte tatin based dish which really left a lot to be desired. Most the staff were pleasant but some were lacking personality, and a smile. Was nice to meet Kevin afterwards and the decor is fantastic but there just seemed to be something missing.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kamthornton, Guest Relations Manager at Thorntons Restaurant, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Many thanks for your kind words regarding your visit in August to Thornton's. We are delighted to hear your lovely comments about the food and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Fabulous midweek menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Went solo..
They had a fabulous menu 3 course plus bubbles for €50.
Service was stellar.
Food was inventive.... Not huge size but elegant and tasty.
Would recommend for a special night out.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kamthornton, Guest Relations Manager at Thorntons Restaurant, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
The team are delighted you took the time to write such a lovely review and we thank you and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thorntons Restaurant also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Thorntons Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thorntons Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.