We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pub with good food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stag's Head

Stag's Head
1 Dame Ct., Dublin, Ireland (South City Centre)
01-679-3687
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #131 of 1,860 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, European, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks
Neighborhood: South City Centre
San Diego
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great pub with good food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

We have the Guiness hot pie and the lamb stew. Amazing food. The carrot chunks in my stew were the size of my wrist. The service was great and the drinks were tall and cold. Note: food service stops at 6 PM.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    70
    14
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
68 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“For a real Dublin pub experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Met work colleagues here during the week for drinks before going to dinner. It's a beautiful building and has an authentic atmosphere. The service is truly excellent. After 45 minutes the barman still remembered that one of my friends wanted a slice of lemon &lime in her G&T- very impressive. They are very professional- you are under no pressure to buy drink until you are ready, they don't shake an empty glass at you but they were really quick when you are ready to order. There is just the right amount of banter. Definitely a 'real' place to visit when in Dublin.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good pub lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

The Stag's Head was very peaceful at lunchtime. Ok, it was a Monday but I was a bit hesitant at first as I thought it might be terribly crowded. Staff is fantastic and I had a wonderful creamy seafood chowder with nice fresh bread, washed down with a glass of excellent Galway Hooker craft beer that they have on tap. they also have lovely staied glass windows.
I'd definitely go back!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“1st bar we stopped in!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Stag's Head was the first place we stopped in because they were having a comedy show in the basement. We got there right on time and it was PACKED. Stood there for a little while before the show and then decided to go back upstairs to sit and drink. Bartenders were great and very friendly, even when we ordered a drink they didnt know. Thanks for the fun evening!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio, Usa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Friendly and attentive bar staff, busy later in the night but still found a spot to sit, great location

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stag's Head also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Stag's Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stag's Head, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.