We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pub with good food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stag's Head

Stag's Head
1 Dame Ct., Dublin, Ireland (South City Centre)
01-679-3687
Improve this listing
Ranked #92 of 1,795 restaurants in Dublin
Cuisines: European, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: South City Centre
San Diego
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great pub with good food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

We have the Guiness hot pie and the lamb stew. Amazing food. The carrot chunks in my stew were the size of my wrist. The service was great and the drinks were tall and cold. Note: food service stops at 6 PM.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    67
    39
    6
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“For a real Dublin pub experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Met work colleagues here during the week for drinks before going to dinner. It's a beautiful building and has an authentic atmosphere. The service is truly excellent. After 45 minutes the barman still remembered that one of my friends wanted a slice of lemon &lime in her G&T- very impressive. They are very professional- you are under no pressure to buy drink until you are ready, they don't shake an empty glass at you but they were really quick when you are ready to order. There is just the right amount of banter. Definitely a 'real' place to visit when in Dublin.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good pub lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

The Stag's Head was very peaceful at lunchtime. Ok, it was a Monday but I was a bit hesitant at first as I thought it might be terribly crowded. Staff is fantastic and I had a wonderful creamy seafood chowder with nice fresh bread, washed down with a glass of excellent Galway Hooker craft beer that they have on tap. they also have lovely staied glass windows.
I'd definitely go back!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“1st bar we stopped in!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Stag's Head was the first place we stopped in because they were having a comedy show in the basement. We got there right on time and it was PACKED. Stood there for a little while before the show and then decided to go back upstairs to sit and drink. Bartenders were great and very friendly, even when we ordered a drink they didnt know. Thanks for the fun evening!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio, Usa
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Friendly and attentive bar staff, busy later in the night but still found a spot to sit, great location

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stag's Head also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Stag's Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stag's Head, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.