We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For a real Dublin pub experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stag's Head

Stag's Head
1 Dame Ct., Dublin, Ireland (South City Centre)
01-679-3687
Improve this listing
Ranked #94 of 1,917 Restaurants in Dublin
Cuisines: European, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Neighborhood: South City Centre
Dublin
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“For a real Dublin pub experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Met work colleagues here during the week for drinks before going to dinner. It's a beautiful building and has an authentic atmosphere. The service is truly excellent. After 45 minutes the barman still remembered that one of my friends wanted a slice of lemon &lime in her G&T- very impressive. They are very professional- you are under no pressure to buy drink until you are ready, they don't shake an empty glass at you but they were really quick when you are ready to order. There is just the right amount of banter. Definitely a 'real' place to visit when in Dublin.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    55
    9
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good pub lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

The Stag's Head was very peaceful at lunchtime. Ok, it was a Monday but I was a bit hesitant at first as I thought it might be terribly crowded. Staff is fantastic and I had a wonderful creamy seafood chowder with nice fresh bread, washed down with a glass of excellent Galway Hooker craft beer that they have on tap. they also have lovely staied glass windows.
I'd definitely go back!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“1st bar we stopped in!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Stag's Head was the first place we stopped in because they were having a comedy show in the basement. We got there right on time and it was PACKED. Stood there for a little while before the show and then decided to go back upstairs to sit and drink. Bartenders were great and very friendly, even when we ordered a drink they didnt know. Thanks for the fun evening!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio, Usa
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Friendly and attentive bar staff, busy later in the night but still found a spot to sit, great location

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Quintessential Dublin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

If you want a taste of Dublin, go to this pub. It's a bit tight and tends to be crowded, but it's an irish pub - what do you expect. Great beers, great atmosphere. Could have stayed for many more hours than I did.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stag's Head also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Stag's Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stag's Head, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.