We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievably good food, quiet atmosphere, superb service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ryan's & F.X. Buckley Steakhouse

Ryan's & F.X. Buckley Steakhouse
Parkgate Street, Dublin, Ireland (Formerly FXB Grill@ Ryans Parkgate Street)
01 6719352
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #58 of 1,831 Restaurants in Dublin
Price range: $13 - $52
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Ryan’s of Parkgate Street has been a landmark Victorian public house in Dublin since 1886 located at the front gate of the Phoenix Park. It has had many famous patrons thorughout it's years including George W. Bush Junior and Senior who both drank here together and also John F. Kennedy. Ryan's was bought by F.X.BUCKLEY Restaurants in 2006 and since then has been serving fabulous FXB quality food, not only do we serve our famous steaks but a full Gastro Bar menu which recommends the best beer for each dish.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Unbelievably good food, quiet atmosphere, superb service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Very close to Phoenix Park. Eat upstairs in the restaurant for a quiet, lengthy, relaxing meal. Go hungry!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    87
    20
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nicest meal I have had in a long time...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

As i was staying at the Ashling hotel recently and had read on Trip Advisor about this resturant I thought i would check it out.. I am soo glad I did. I had the nicest meal I have had in a long time. Even though we were there mid afternoon (On a Sunday) we were able to select of the special early bird menu so I had 2 courses for 19 euro. For my main I had the steak with peppercorn sauce. I could have licked the plate clean the sauce was so nice. I didn't think to order vegetables with my meal and that was the only disappointment that it did not come with any. I would have liked them to point that out when you place your order. For dessert I had the chocolate brownie.. i would consider driving down the 2 hours to Dublin to have that again it was soo good! Definitely well worth checking this place this out.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We visited Ryans bar last week while staying in the Ashling Hotel. The staff were very friendly and the bar is cosy and welcoming. We considered the bar menu and while impressed with the choice of food we did not sample any on this trip but will do so on the next trip.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Good pub good food good atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed in the ashling hotel just down the road from Ryan's, the staff were helpful and friendly the food was really good ( I recommend the brisket ) and the beer was going down well too and it was all great value. The only negative point is its a bit out town but if you're staying nearby I highly recommend it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland, UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Fine specialist steakhouse”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

My wife and I ate there will visiting Dublin. We arrived early before the 17:00 opening time, but we were so taken with the friendliness of the manager and his warm welcome we decided to have a few drinks elsewhere before returning for our evening meal.

The restaurant is dedicated to steaks of all cuts and thicknesses, beautifully cooked and well presented. I had a wonderful 10 oz sirloin with alll the trimmings..... delicious.

Our young waiter from Achill was very amusing and contributed greater to overall enjoyment of the dining experience.

Hopefully we will be back soon!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ryan's & F.X. Buckley Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Ryan's & F.X. Buckley Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ryan's & F.X. Buckley Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.