We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some of the best stout on earth” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Porterhouse Temple Bar

The Porterhouse Temple Bar
16-18 Parliament Street, Dublin D2, Ireland (South City Centre)
1-679 8847
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #115 of 1,797 restaurants in Dublin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: South City Centre
Burlington, Connecticut
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Some of the best stout on earth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I first had Porterhouse at the Fraunces Tavern in NYC. If you like Guinness and stouts, you are missing a slice of life if you never try this stuff (two world gold medals). They have a very very extensive beer list if stout isn't your thing. The live music was awesome. The food was good but not exceptional. I had a loin of bacon or something like that and it had unbelievable flavor and I am surprised I haven't had a heart attack yet because I am pretty sure it had a negative impact on my cholesterol!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    266
    210
    52
    20
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Excellent place with home-brewed beer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Very nice place for a very relaxed atmosphere in Temple Bar. It can get crowded, but on the top floor its not super-crowded, and the beer they serve is very nice.
There is some live music, usually rock, there.

Overall, very nice and friendly place!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Based upon several recommendations, we went to the Porterhouse in Temple Bar. Two of us had specials and were very pleased with our choices (beef stew and a lamb dish). The other 4 ordered from the regular menu and were sorely disappointed. Two of us ordered a special goat cheese burger which came with a slab of cold goat cheese on a luke warm, not particularly tasty or hearty burger. They do not take reservations and staff provides no assistance in finding a table. We identified one table waiting to depart and waited an extra 15 minutes while they attempted to get their check. Service was slow and when we could flag down our waitress, she often forgot to bring what we requested.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great Beers on Tap”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I have sort of grown up in this bar, I've been coming here for about 12 years, less so in the past couple, but I still love this place. Great place to eduacte yourself in the beer world by sampling everything they have on the menu. Excellent gastro pub as well. Templebrau on tap is really nice. Live music is usually superb, only problem is the place can get really packed and the toilets are no fun on a busy night.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“My favourite Dublin Pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

This pub has an amazing beer selection both on tap and bottled and the bar staff I spoke to were very knowledgeable about both and didn't mind being quizzed each round. I had some great local craft beers and towards the end of the day tried out a few different whiskeys! I also had a very tasty and filling sausage and mash and my wife had chicken which she enjoyed. If I lived in Dublin I would definitely make this pub my local!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Porterhouse Temple Bar also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to The Porterhouse Temple Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Porterhouse Temple Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.