We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Night” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Peploe's

Peploe's
16 St Stephen's Green | Dublin 2, Dublin 2, Ireland (South City Centre)
(01) 676 3144
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #229 of 1,820 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $28 - $56
Cuisines: French, Irish, International, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Local cuisine, Doing business, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: South City Centre
Description: Peploe's is chic, sophisticated and probably the bubbliest restaurant in Dublin. Great food and ambience is the order of the day at Peploe's Wine Bistro. We all work very hard making sure that we have the best service, great food and really buzzy atmosphere! Our produce is sources from the best Irish and European suppliers of fresh fish and meat.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

My wife and I went to Peploe's on New Year's Eve. We thoroughly enjoyed the evening. The welcome, the service and the food were second to none.I had the venison as a main course which was beautifully tender,and my wife had the pheasant which was delicious.The ambiance of the restaurant was cosy,nicely lit and warm.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    264
    180
    85
    30
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We were very kindly given a gift voucher for Peploe's from a friend who's a regular diner here and having not previously been aware of the restaurant, we looked forward to checking out her recommendation. We booked for a Saturday evening (the earlier sitting from 7-9pm). The restaurant was busy but not crowded and although there isn't a great deal of space between tables, we didn't feel we were dining 'with' the couple at the table next to us. We were presented with a nicely varied á la carte menu from which we chose; French onion soup followed by wild boar and roast stuffed pheasant, then vanilla panna cotta and hot chocolate fondant to finish. The quality of the food was excellent. The house wine was pleasant and not overly priced and the bill came to a reasonable €100 for three courses plus drinks. The atmosphere was calm and relaxed and even though it's a basement restaurant, the clever decor and interesting wall murals give the impression of space and light. All in all we enjoyed the experience. Definitely worth a visit for a romantic dinner or even lunch with the girls after a busy morning shopping.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best supper in ages”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Can't remember a better meal in some time. Pan-Seared Lamb Kidneys for the starter and the Wild Irish Venison for the main. Crab Tortellini for her main. Both of us knocked out by the quality. Prices in line with other quality restaurants in Dublin. Great service.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peploes W, Public Relations Manager at Peploe's, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
We're thrilled you were knocked out by the quality!! Thank you for your really positive review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We ate here on the 30th December a fantastic recommendation from our hotel, I had the Lamb's Kidneys followed by Venison it was a lovely meal, the service was fabulous and a plesurable expereince was had by the whole group.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peploes W, Public Relations Manager at Peploe's, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. It's always great to receive such a positive review. We hope you enjoyed your stay in Dublin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
284 helpful votes 284 helpful votes
“Hop Skip and a Jump from Grafton Street - Consistently Good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

As you descend down the steps from St Stephen's Green into Peploes, you may wonder whether you are about to enter a dreary basement restaurant ... not at all. The decor is warm and welcoming, easy and elegant with a cocktail/wine bar located on the left inside. I have been to this restaurant many times over the years for both lunch and dinner and the food and service is consistently good. On this occasion, we visited for Sunday lunch and enjoyed some complimentary sparkling wine to toast the New Year while choosing from a range of seasonal dishes. Starters chosen today varied from melting brie with prunes, to authentic french onion soup, to gravadlax with brioche toast on the side. Bread basket was also very good. Mains of chicken schnitzel were given the thumbs up, while fish dishes of John Dory and Halibut were equally good. Wine list offers good choice and is well priced. Service is attentive yet discreet so that the flow of conversation is not unnecessarily interrupted. A special word of appreciation for one of the better double espresso macchiatos that I have enjoyed in quite a while. Apart from this restaurant's excellent location, looking across to St. Stephen's Green and moments away from some of Dublin's best retail stores, it's nice to go to a restaurant where you can rely on consistently good food and service. Well done, Peploes!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peploes W, Public Relations Manager at Peploe's, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review. We’re delighted you enjoyed the Peploe’s experience. We’re always proud to see such positive comments surrounding our food offering and we simply love all the great feedback we receive regarding our wine list. We spend a lot of time and effort sourcing wines to ensure they are well received by our customers. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peploe's also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Peploe's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peploe's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.