We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sublime Sunday Lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of O'Connells in Donnybrook

O'Connells in Donnybrook
135 Morehampton Road, Dublin, Ireland
01 269 6116
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #203 of 1,883 Restaurants in Dublin
Price range: $0 - $51
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: O'Connells delights in being an Irish Restaurant serving menus with the best Irish ingredients, local, free-range, wild and organic when possible. We are more relaxed at lunch-time and in the evening we add table cloths for a nicer ambiance. We are a medium priced restaurant with an Early Bird Menu being served all evening - seven days a week. We are known for best value dining and being Coeliac Friendly. In 2012 O'Connells has been double awarded Best Casual Dining in Ireland by The Irish Independent Restaurant Awards and The National Hospitality Awards. O'Connells features in The Bridgestone Guide and in Georgina Campbell's Ireland Guide. Our Food is a Family Affair - Today is Yesterday - Tomorrow is Yesterday - nothing has changed. At O’Connells our recipes and dishes have long deep roots. Our Mother was born in 1925 her Mother in the 1890’s.One family food ethic has remained constant - a respect for the land, the sea, the producer and the cook. We are happy to share our family’s passion for the food of the island of Ireland through our menus.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Sublime Sunday Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We've had dinner here on a number of occasions but up to now we hadn't tried the Sunday lunch. It was time to put that right and we were so glad we did.

Starters were from the buffet and showcased the best of small Irish producers. Main courses were an excellent confit of duck and a magnificent roast rib of beef. Gorgeous desserts from the buffet rounded off a first class lunch. The wine list contains plenty of interesting choices, and they have recently introduced wines of the month at attractive prices.

Good service, overseen by the ever welcoming and attentive Tom O'Connell made this yet another meal to remember.



Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    66
    28
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

This is a converted pub - was Madigans. They haven't removed the pumps - so a pint of draught beer is available....

O'Connell's was packed which generated a lively atmosphere - having said that, the service was very efficient - and friendly.

Food was good - not great. As starters, we selected the french onion soup (6/10) salmon (7/10) and black pudding (6/10). The best dish selected appeared to be the grilled monkfish (8/10). The restaurant speciality - chicken - came with a thyme based stuffing sauce that 2 of us didn't rate... (6/10). Only one had a desert - gluten free raspberry sorbet - not much differs on that option across restaurants!

Wine was well priced - a decent house wine at €32

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Brilliant Brunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

I've eaten here a few times for dinner - very Ballymaloe style ie Fresh quality food cooked simply. Their Sunday lunch is about the best you'll find for a big family day out. More recently I've had breakfast / Brunch twice. Finally a place that cooks a breakfast as good as you'll get at home! Fresh quality ingredients cooked well, excellent juices and top notch coffee! The only downside is they don't serve breakfast on a Sunday as the prepare for the aforementioned Sunday lunchers!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oconnells, Owner at O'Connells in Donnybrook, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Thank you Richard D for taking the time to Review O'Connells. Delighted that you give our breakfast the 'thumbs up'. We have put quite a bit into getting our Breakfast up-and-going over the past 10 months. Our Manager Dorotha; Chinny on our Badger & Dodo Coffee and our Chefs will be delighted to read that their willingness to continually strive to get the best possible standard is noticed. The ingredients we use are important starting with the Macroom (North Cork) Stone-ground flour for our Brown Soda Bread to Sean Kelly's Sausages and Puddings (Co Mayo) and of course Smoked Gubbeen Bacon (West Cork) help us deliver real taste. Finally our Eggs are delivered to us directly from the farm of Matt & Avril Bergin (Ballacolla Co Laois). Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Amazing food and service
One of my favourite restaurants to eat
Thanks very much Flavio,you made our evening in there,very special

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oconnells, Owner at O'Connells in Donnybrook, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Thank you Alexrossi for your Review of O'Connells. Delighted that you enjoyed your meal with us. Very pleased to pass on to Flavio your special mention.
Tom O'Connell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent food, but restaurant cold”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Food was superb for all courses, as was the Guinness. Even the water here tastes very good. Dined here several times now. Restaurant never warm but on recent visit, my wife could not take off her coat for the entire meal. And she wasn't the only one.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oconnells, Owner at O'Connells in Donnybrook, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you Dec0904 for your Review of O'Connells. Our apologies to you both. We had a problem towards the end of last week with some excessive draughts and could only get our Ventilation Man to attend to the problem properly on Monday at noon when I personally attended with him to get a full and detailed explanation. At the same time he made further recommendations and I asked for those works to go ahead. Be assured that we will continue to monitor this carefully.
Tom O'Connell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O'Connells in Donnybrook also viewed

 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to O'Connells in Donnybrook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O'Connells in Donnybrook, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.