We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand food lack of atmosphere” 3 of 5 stars
Review of O'Connells in Donnybrook

O'Connells in Donnybrook
135 Morehampton Road, Dublin, Ireland
01 269 6116
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #191 of 1,886 Restaurants in Dublin
Price range: $0 - $51
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: O'Connells delights in being an Irish Restaurant serving menus with the best Irish ingredients, local, free-range, wild and organic when possible. We are more relaxed at lunch-time and in the evening we add table cloths for a nicer ambiance. We are a medium priced restaurant with an Early Bird Menu being served all evening - seven days a week. We are known for best value dining and being Coeliac Friendly. In 2012 O'Connells has been double awarded Best Casual Dining in Ireland by The Irish Independent Restaurant Awards and The National Hospitality Awards. O'Connells features in The Bridgestone Guide and in Georgina Campbell's Ireland Guide. Our Food is a Family Affair - Today is Yesterday - Tomorrow is Yesterday - nothing has changed. At O’Connells our recipes and dishes have long deep roots. Our Mother was born in 1925 her Mother in the 1890’s.One family food ethic has remained constant - a respect for the land, the sea, the producer and the cook. We are happy to share our family’s passion for the food of the island of Ireland through our menus.
ireland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Grand food lack of atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

Had a meal here with friends as we were heading over to the rte studios and needed a nearby eatery! The food was lovely but a fairly limited menu. All four of us had the same! Dessert was lovely though! Wasnt overly full while we were there but there were two families with young children so it must be family friendly. Our burgers were tasty enough but the starter buffets was lovely with desserts of course the fav the brownie in particular was lovely and chocy without being too rich! There werent in a hurry to get us out eithere which was great!

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    66
    28
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Quick lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

A phone message meant that I didn't have time to spare for a long lunch - but wow! In short order, I had a great mushroom vol-au-vent starter and an only terrific O'Connell apple tart. Brilliant, tasty, efficiently served and I was more than happy for an afternoon's work. Mind you, I looked longingly at the fish course on the main menu . . . that'll be for another time.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oconnells, Owner at O'Connells in Donnybrook, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Thank you Happy Out. Great you enjoyed your swift lunch. This week if you are driving by we also have Pecan Tart on the menu for Thursday's Thanksgiving Day Lunch and Dinner. Your nice words are a good reminder that the most rushed meal is every bit as important as the full-on lunch or dinner. Thank you,Tom O'Connell, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddonfield, New Jersey
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

First night in Ireland stumbled across O'Connells restaurant. We did not have a reservation but luckily they were able to accommodate the 7 of us. The French onion soup was awesome, and the roasted chicken was possibly the best roasted chicken I ever tasted. The staff was wonderfully kind and attentive. The meal and the ambiance was a perfect first night on our Ireland vacation.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oconnells, Owner at O'Connells in Donnybrook, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Thank you Joanieo16 for taking the time to review our restaurant.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your meal. Great you had the chicken it might well be described as our speciality. Actually just yesterday we have now added Roast Guinea Fowl - served in the same manner - particularly good for the Autumn season and to-day we had our first Pecan Pies in preparation for Thanksgiving Day. Hope you have enjoyed your trip to Ireland.
Tom O'Connell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Outstanding Irish Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

My husband and I discovered O'Connells about two years ago. My brother in law and his wife were in town from the states with their small child. We were looking for a restaurant to meet to have dinner, I didn't realize having a small child meant restaurants in Dublin suddenly have no reservations/ or high chairs. But everything changed the moment we spoke to Tom in O'Connells. He could not have made us feel more welcome. We had a fabulous evening and we try to go there as much as possible ever since.

The food
The food is simply the best of good, wholesome Irish food. The menu is extensive from portobello mushroom gratin to fresh dublin bay lobster.
My favourite dish is there there over roasted chicken. They have special oven that they roast half and organic chicken in @ 400oc for 20 mins. They carve it at your table with very crispy roast chicken skin, stuffing and delicious gravy and vegetables.

On Sundays the starters and deserts are a buffet style service - they serve a chocolate mousse that I would actually sell my husband for. HEAVEN.

The staff
The staff are really kind and very friendly. There is a lady that works there as maitre d, she is so friendly whenever we go there and is always attentive.

If you're not from Ireland this restaurant is a really good example of Irish cooking and a hidden gem. I would recommend this restaurant for just a nice easy night out with family or friends.

This isn't fast food its great slow food. So sit back relax and enjoy.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oconnells, Owner at O'Connells in Donnybrook, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Thank you Miami 2011 for taking the time to review O'Connells.
Family time now-a-days can be under time pressure. Restaurant visits are part of that precious family time and loved by all generations. Our aim is to add to these special occasions. We are currently writing our 2012 'Snow Season Young Person's Menu' which will to on offer from mid-November to mid-February.
Renewed thanks,
Tom O'Connell, Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsburg, PA, USA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Very considerate.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We ate here on a Saturday night in September when Dublin was hosting an American football match nearby. The restaurant was packed. But we had a wonderful experience. The food, service, and ambiance were first rate. There was a bit of a delay getting our main courses out of the kitchen, and without our asking anything, the head waiter brought us two complimentary starters. That was exceptionally considerate, and they were very busy. We highly recommend O'Connells.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O'Connells in Donnybrook also viewed

 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to O'Connells in Donnybrook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O'Connells in Donnybrook, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.