We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Fish and Chips” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Leo Burdock's

Leo Burdock's
2 Werburgh Street, Dublin, Ireland (South City Centre)
1-454 0306
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #501 of 1,884 Restaurants in Dublin
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: South City Centre
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Fish and Chips”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Great fish and chips! By far the best we had while visiting Dublin. Only issue we had was there wasn't a sitting area so we had to stand on the street corner eating it, which was part of the experience so I didn't mind. Huge portions and very friendly people!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    144
    84
    34
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eustis, Florida
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Tastes Good and Plenty of it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

We had gone to a different fish and chip shop a couple days before, and based on that experience we bought separate orders here at Burdock's - after all, this was in the Temple Bar so it was bound to be less of a value, right? But their servings were huge just for one Euro more in cost. If we'd known they gave you so much we would have shared an order!

We bought the cod and it was one large thick piece of fish, which was good as that meant less breading and carbohydrates. And a ton of chips. Neither of us could finish them. My only (slight) complaint was that the receipt showed the fish and chips billed separately. If we'd known we would have each ordered fish and shared an order of chips. But maybe it reflected that on the menu board and we missed it.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Huge tasty portion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

I got the usual fresh cod and chips for 8 euro and it could have fed two. The fish was great, not greasy or overcooked, and fast service.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Snack”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Landed at DUB around 10AM and had a bag in-hand before noon. They also have sausage, chicken nuggets and patties for those that are not all about fish (like me).

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best fish and chips in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Had the best fish and chips in Leo Burdocs.had never tried them though had driven past thousands of times.i am so glad i did stop and try it, cant wait to have fish and chips again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leo Burdock's also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Leo Burdock's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leo Burdock's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.