We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“delicious lamb” 4 of 5 stars
Review of L'Ecrivain

L'Ecrivain
109 Lower Baggot St, Dublin, Ireland
01-661-19-19
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #102 of 1,795 restaurants in Dublin
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“delicious lamb”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014 NEW

Last night we tried the tasting menu with the wine pAiring and the lamb dish was the best lamb ever!

All dishes were beautifully presented and mostly very tasty. However, the highlight was the very friendly and knowledgable lady sommelier. Be sure to get into a conversation with her - its worth it!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    218
    75
    34
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Galway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Once in a Lifetime Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014 NEW

It was a special occasion so the two of us had the tasting menu and the wine pairing. It was sensational. The service was impeccable, the wine was sensational - as was the sommelier - and the food was out of this world. A fantastic night to remember.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Amazingly good service, food and atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 NEW

This restaurant in lower Baggot Street, Dublin is an amazingly high-class restaurant. As you enter, you are offered a choice of going to the bar for a drink before going upstairs to eat or going straight up. We chose to head to the bar and then upstairs.
I suffer from a severe nut allergy, so we rang in advance to see if they could serve me - which the could happily. I was offered anything on the menu and they would do their best to make it nut-free. This restaurant is great for any allergy sufferer.
Yes, this restaurant is expensive but it is top-class in every form. Great staff, amazing food, spectacular service and friendly people. Definitely save up and head straight for l'Ecrivain.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“SUPERB MICHELIN STAR RESTAURANT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Nobody reserves a table here without some research !
Menu, winelists etc are easily found on their webpage.
The choices are formidable.
So- reserve a table,sit down in the bar and take a nice drink before the meal-
and then just let this well deserving Michelin Star restaurant send you of to
Gourmet Wonderland !
Just enjoy and dont spoil the experience by thinking too much of what it
costs(£500 for us 2)
or dont go!
Alternatively: book lunch for £35 and you will find yourself coming back for
more!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“save up but definitely go”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

This is the third time I have visited L'Ecrivain. This time we has a €150 gift voucher which was just as well because the total price was over £100 per person. We decided to go for the €75 seven course tasting menu because we thought the a la carte would have been dearer. And it was just blissful. Monkfish with an amazing black olive gnocchi. Lamb done two ways with a fabulous nettle and pea croquette. Blue cheese mousse and slow cooked chocolate tart. These are just the highlights. Wine pricey but a reasonably priced Chilean cabernet. Really friendly staff. One of the very best restaurants I have visited. Worth a trip to Dublin just to go here - especially for lunch when the prices represent something of a bargain.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Ecrivain also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to L'Ecrivain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Ecrivain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.