We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“finally writing about this jewel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Ecrivain

L'Ecrivain
109 Lower Baggot St, Dublin, Ireland
01-661-19-19
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #137 of 1,883 Restaurants in Dublin
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
saintfield
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“finally writing about this jewel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

known about here for years - always meant to go there always had fab reviews had booked jennifer lopez ticket on mon -so decided to book derry and sallyann place -was booked in for 13.00 great service great food above all trout good manager darren will be back

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    247
    87
    40
    15
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Excellent choice of menu and good cooking and presentation, especially fish. Fair value for money. Restaurant setting a little unusual but comfortable. Only peanuts to nibble with champagne before dinner was disappointing!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

A long anticipated visit to this restaurant. We came to celebrate a special birthday and we were expecting a really fabulous meal with the very best of service. All I can say is that it was a big disappointment, overpriced and the meal was nothing of the quality that we expected. The exception were our desserts which were both delicious and beautifully presented. Our party of four were unanimous that we would not be returning again for an evening meal. A truly disappointing experience.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Always very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

The food is always beautiful, great selection and catering to all tastes ... the adventurous and the not so adventurous!!
The service can be hit & Miss depending on how busy the place is.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A disappointing first visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

I went to L’Ecrivain with my husband on Thursday night this week as I had been lucky enough to snap up a Menupages offer and having heard so much about the place was really looking forward to it. I have to say, my overall experience was disappointing. First though, the positives. The staff were wonderful, from the time we arrived to when we left they were attentive, friendly and very knowledgable. The restaurant itself was lovely, with a nice ambience and very pleasant décor. Now to the negatives. The price; I can’t understand why there are supplements on basic items, like Monkfish starter +€5, Foie Gras starter +€5, Beef taster main +€8, Turbot main +€10, and Cheese board +€8. Including the service charge of 12.5% these supplements alone added a whopping €40 to our bill. The wine at €45 per bottle was also a bit on the pricey side, but I suppose you expect that in a Michelin star restaurant. The food was decidedly average. My husband loved his Foie Gras starter and his beef main but the portion size of the main course was small considering the supplement paid. Both my starter of Monkfish and my main of Turbot were disappointing. The monkfish lacked any real flavor of its own and was overshadowed by a strong metallic seaweed thingy and 2 different foams. It was also overcooked and my husband commented on the fact that I had to use a heavy sawing motion with my knife to cut through it. The Turbot was slightly better (not so overcooked) but again lacked any real flavor of its own, being overshadowed by the accompaniments. Normally we wouldn’t have desert but we weren’t full and we decided to share a cheeseboard. This was adequate but nothing to write home about. There were 3 nice cheeses, half a dozen homemade savory biscuits and grapes (not seedless which was a bit annoying) but no quince, chutney or other accompaniment, which I would have expected. We didn’t bother with tea or coffee. Our bill including “discretionary” gratuity of 12.5% came to just over €226 which we both felt was extortionate. The menupages deal helped a lot and if it wasn’t for that we would have felt totally ripped off. Maybe I’m just not rich enough to eat here, but come to think of it, even if I was - I don’t think I’d bother.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Ecrivain also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to L'Ecrivain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Ecrivain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.