We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Genuine italian food in Dublin” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Primo

Il Primo
16 Montague Street, Dublin, Ireland (South City Centre)
1-478 3373
Improve this listing
Ranked #236 of 1,795 restaurants in Dublin
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: South City Centre
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Genuine italian food in Dublin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

This place is tiny but if you manage to book a table you will not be disapointed.the food is delicious italian food cooked lovingly usina few simple, fresh and seasonal ingredients.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    65
    30
    15
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

I've passed this restaurant many times but just paid my first, and definitely not my last, visit there on Wednesday on a Christmas night out with friends. The Christmas menu and the wines were excellent. Lovely atmosphere and the staff were very friendly and helpful without being intrusive. Will be recommending it to all my friends and family.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic and homely Italian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

First visit to Il Primo a few weeks ago and I'll definitely be back. We were sitting in the downstairs area which is lovely and the staff were really attentive. Lovely, varied menu (forget the standard chain-type Italian menus) and a really enticing specials board. Wine list looked really good too.
I had the Pappardelle wild boar ragout which was exquisite and my friend had Crab, lemon and leek lasagna which was also divine. All fresh, perfectly cooked and seasoned food.
Can't wait to go back and try some more tasty dishes from the menu...clearly the best Italian meal I've had in a very long time.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We enjoyed a lovely in Il Primo. We were seated in the upstairs area. The service was excellent and the staff very helpful and friendly.The food was delicious.It was a Friday night when we were there and there was a great atmosphere in the restaurant. Not a sign of austerity.The suggested wine was very good and not overly expensive,

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Excellent mid week fare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Popped in with a large group on a Wednesday night, they had a full menu, and a good specials list. Had the crab cakes to start, and teh veal scalloppine for main, very tasty indeed, and well presented. The wine was good too, a recommendation from our Italian waitress who clearly knew her vintages. would happily return, particularly to try the specials which looked vary appealing

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Primo also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Il Primo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Primo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.