We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy and with beautiful food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Il Posto Restaurant

Il Posto Restaurant
10 St. Stephens Green, Dublin Dublin 2, Ireland
+353 1 679 4769
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #152 of 1,831 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $66
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Entertaining clients, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Il Posto is a relaxed and modern Italian Mediterranean Restaurant on Dublin's St. Stephen's Green. The restaurant's appeal lies in it's natural warmth and charm, offering regulars and newcomers an atmosphere that would make you feel like you are dining in the heart of Milan or Rome. Il Posto offers an intimate and elegant setting with an informal family atmosphere, sumptuous food and excellent service
Northampton, England
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Classy and with beautiful food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I ate an evening meal in this restaurant during a business trip to Ireland. The Theatre Menu was very good value, from which I chose lamb's liver which was one of the nicest plates of offal I've ever had! Dessert choices were a little more limiting but still good. Service was prompt, which was especially welcome as we had a plane to catch. A good choice.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    65
    29
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Great little Italian restaurant, superb carbonara!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We decided to choose the first restaurant we liked the menu of after leaving The Shelbourne Hotel and this lovely welcoming little Italian appeared - what a find it was. On Tuesday's & Wednesday's they allow you to bring your own wine for free (we did this). The food was superb and the waitresses engaging & helpful. The Carbonara was superb - Five stars!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
414 reviews 414 reviews
372 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 167 cities Reviews in 167 cities
317 helpful votes 317 helpful votes
“An Adequate Lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

It may be unfair to judge a restaurant solely on the basis of one lunch. On one of those rare sunny days in Ireland, the small number of outside tables were taken, so we headed down the steps into a fairly lean dining room that might have been more inviting in winter. With an important dinner in the evening, we opted for a main course and dessert.

My wife and I both had pasta, she the carbonara and I a spaghettini bolognese. The dishes were ok, but nothing to write home about., Pasta is such an essential part of any Italian family, ristorante or trattoria that when the pasta isn't exceptional you feel let down. It is a long way to Italy from St. Stephen's Green even if Andrea Bocelli had a couple of nice meals here.

We might give them another try in the evening, when there is a more extensive menu.

Kudos for the home made ice cream (not gelati) and sorbet. The banana and mango flavors, respectively were quite good.

I didn't take a long look at the wine list. A couple of glasses of Chianti at 7 Euros per were of good quality.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“A great find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Located near Graphton Street, near the Shelbourne Hotel...on North Street. Yummy, yummy food! Nice Chianti wine. Small, simple place but very nice. It was busy when we visited. If you like lemons, try the Lemon Pot dessert!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Small, stylish Italian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Visited Il Posto on a Saturday night in May. It is a small, stylish restaurant in a basement on the East side of St Stephen's Green. The food was very good quality, and the prices were reasonable for central Dublin. Staff were friendly and attentive and had no problem changing a corked bottle of wine. Nice table linen and glasses. Wine list is small but well chosen and the coffee is good quality. Will visit again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Posto Restaurant also viewed

 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Il Posto Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Posto Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.