We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Il Corvo

Il Corvo
100 Upper Drumcondra Road, Dublin, Ireland
1-837 5727
Improve this listing
Ranked #603 of 1,820 Restaurants in Dublin
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Gainsborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Enjoyable meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We were heading into Dublin centre from our B&B for a mid-week evening meal for myself and my husband on the first night of our three day stay in Dublin, but the bus service let us down and we were very late getting down Drumcondra Road - decided to get off the bus and try this place! Location not brilliant on this busy road, but don't let that put you off. Service a little slow initially but no problem after that. Food was very good and we felt we'd made the right decision in not carrying on into the city centre.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    37
    16
    15
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Good value, especialy the early evening menu.

Staff freiendly and service was fast

Lamb shank was a little overdone, but okay.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Very Enjoyable Sunday Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

To celebrate 7 April birthdays a family group of 10 decided to treat ourselves to Sunday lunch in Il Corvo before heading to Croke Park. The menu was well thought out and great value at €22.50 for three courses. Food was excellent and the service was good. The calamari was deliciouse and the meat balls were to die for. All of our group were happy with their choices and head off to the match well fed and ready to cheer.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
239 helpful votes 239 helpful votes
“Boring, bland and massively overpriced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Went here for the first time in about 10 years. Nothing much changed. Totally overrated spot, reckon it does so well because there's not that much in the drumcondra area and especially a lack of established places. If you enjoy a view of the N1 traffic jam, bland food, rump quality steaks and enormous bills you'll fit in well here.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“The food is great, but the staff are exceptional and its like going to a friends house for dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I have been here 3 times recently, twice for lunch, once for dinner. I have been impressed with the consistency of the warmth expressed in the welcome, the service and the food on each occasion. The chefs special are something else, great combinations, reasonably priced, service is quick, efficient and the waiting staff arefriendly, all excellent. What impressed me most was the chef came to meet us and explain the dishes and thanked us for our custom, how neat is that! i now have put Il Corvo on my list as a place to revisit and recommend.

It is a huge improvement on past experiences, admittedly many years ago which were not great,is it a case of new management recognising past failings, next time i'll enquire and update

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Corvo also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Il Corvo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Corvo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.