We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food was good, Atmosphere was great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Boxty House

The Boxty House
20-21 Temple Bar, Dublin D2, Ireland (Formerly Gallagher's Boxty House)
+353 1 677 2762
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #82 of 1,864 Restaurants in Dublin
Price range: $12 - $31
Cuisines: Irish, Seafood, Gastropub, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Our restaurant has been at the beating heart of a dynamic, contemporary community for over 25 years. Our customers experience a genuine taste of modern Ireland, full of eclectic talking points and the warmth of that country kitchen down the west. Today, our restaurant caters for up to 2000 local and international customers a week. The relaxed, warm atmosphere provides a natural habitat for conversation to flow easily and to share stories. Come join us in the heart of Temple Bar, and discover what it means to be Irish. Totally Irish.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Food was good, Atmosphere was great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We ate here on our last night in Dublin, wanting one last meal of traditional Irish food before heading to London. We booked a reservation, and were happy we did just so we didn't have to wait. We ordered a trio of stew and the corn beef and cabbage. Both were good, but not great. The beer bread was excellent & memorable, even after a week of eating bread at every meal. The service staff was the best part, as they were extremely friendly & attentive. They also very politely brought out check not too long after we were done eating. It is a cultural thing to not do this in Europe, but as Americans we actually found this refreshing after normally waiting an extra 20-30 minutes for the bill.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoxtyHouse, Public Relations Manager at The Boxty House, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thanks Jeremy and Emil for taking the time to share your experience with others, although you did not enjoy the food as much as we would have liked you to we are delighted that our waiting staff gave such a high level of service.
Hopefully you plan on visiting Dublin again in the future, we would love to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,755 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    946
    583
    159
    45
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Irish food and GREAT staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We tried this restaurant based on recommendations of our tour guide. We did not have a reservation, but only waited for a few minutes to be seated. The waiting staff were outstanding and simply confirmed how friendly and genuinely helpful Irish people are! I had the seafood chowder as a starter, and the Irish lamb stew as the main. My friend had the Gaelic Boxty (steak in a whiskey and mushroom sauce wrapped in a potato pancake). The dishes were of quite a good-size portion, and delicious enough (as good I guess as a stew could be. The potatoes were certainly plentiful!), but what stood out was the friendly service. I am not much of a meat eater, but would gladly come back to this place on the occasion of my next trip to Dublin!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoxtyHouse, Public Relations Manager at The Boxty House, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Hi Thien,
thanks for the great review!
When you return there will be a big pot of Irish stew and another warm welcome waiting for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Top Contributor
318 reviews 318 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
“Boxty House still delicious!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We had eaten at this restaurant in the Temple Bar area several years ago and were hoping that it was still as good as we remembered . . . and it WAS!! The waiter was really very nice and even gave us some ideas to fill the "rare" sunny day. The boxty selection was good for everyone in our group and the restaurant is now selling the "boxy powdered mix" for those who can't make it to Gallagher's on a regular basis. Even though this is located in a high tourist area, I would still recommend for a nice lunch!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoxtyHouse, Public Relations Manager at The Boxty House, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Hi Mis-Adventurous!
thanks a million for returning to us, we are so happy that we were still able to live up to your expectations! You truly have become a regular now and we hope we will see you again soon.

If you purchased a box of our boxty mix we would love to hear what you think of it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Great food -- Excellent staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Booked a reservation in advance based on Tripadvisor reviews. Not a huge place and plenty busy so glad we had a reservation. Easy to find in Temple Bar. We were seated in the front bar-area dining area...only about 5-6 tables in that section. Food was good, fresh, inventive. What made our meal was our server, Martin. Quite the personality and refreshingly honest. Good food, inventive combinations. 1 starter, 3 entrees, 2 beers and 3 desserts....right at 90 Euro total. Lots of people there so you know the food is fresh and good. We left feeling that we had surely made the right choice....Martin made us feel at home. Will return if I'm ever in Dublin again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoxtyHouse, Public Relations Manager at The Boxty House, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Hi and thanks for the great review!!!
Delighted to hear that you enjoyed your meal so much and Martin was able to add to the experience! We really hope you return to Dublin soon and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The perfect Dublin experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Just arrived in Dublin and our group had Gallagher Stew, Murphy Stew and Boxty pancakes. It was very tasty and the service was outstanding. A must place to eat!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoxtyHouse, Public Relations Manager at The Boxty House, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Hi Hrachinski!
Thanks for the wonderful recommendation, so glad you and your friends choose the Boxty House as your first dining destination in Dublin and that you enjoyed the food so much. Perhaps we will see you guys again for your last supper in Dublin?!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Boxty House also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to The Boxty House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Boxty House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.