We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boxty House still delicious!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Boxty House

The Boxty House
20-21 Temple Bar, Dublin D2, Ireland (Formerly Gallagher's Boxty House)
+35316772762
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #71 of 1,813 restaurants in Dublin
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: Irish, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Italy
Top Contributor
292 reviews 292 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
“Boxty House still delicious!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We had eaten at this restaurant in the Temple Bar area several years ago and were hoping that it was still as good as we remembered . . . and it WAS!! The waiter was really very nice and even gave us some ideas to fill the "rare" sunny day. The boxty selection was good for everyone in our group and the restaurant is now selling the "boxy powdered mix" for those who can't make it to Gallagher's on a regular basis. Even though this is located in a high tourist area, I would still recommend for a nice lunch!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoxtyHouse, Public Relations Manager at The Boxty House, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Hi Mis-Adventurous!
thanks a million for returning to us, we are so happy that we were still able to live up to your expectations! You truly have become a regular now and we hope we will see you again soon.

If you purchased a box of our boxty mix we would love to hear what you think of it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,560 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    852
    510
    139
    40
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Great food -- Excellent staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Booked a reservation in advance based on Tripadvisor reviews. Not a huge place and plenty busy so glad we had a reservation. Easy to find in Temple Bar. We were seated in the front bar-area dining area...only about 5-6 tables in that section. Food was good, fresh, inventive. What made our meal was our server, Martin. Quite the personality and refreshingly honest. Good food, inventive combinations. 1 starter, 3 entrees, 2 beers and 3 desserts....right at 90 Euro total. Lots of people there so you know the food is fresh and good. We left feeling that we had surely made the right choice....Martin made us feel at home. Will return if I'm ever in Dublin again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoxtyHouse, Public Relations Manager at The Boxty House, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Hi and thanks for the great review!!!
Delighted to hear that you enjoyed your meal so much and Martin was able to add to the experience! We really hope you return to Dublin soon and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“The perfect Dublin experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Just arrived in Dublin and our group had Gallagher Stew, Murphy Stew and Boxty pancakes. It was very tasty and the service was outstanding. A must place to eat!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoxtyHouse, Public Relations Manager at The Boxty House, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Hi Hrachinski!
Thanks for the wonderful recommendation, so glad you and your friends choose the Boxty House as your first dining destination in Dublin and that you enjoyed the food so much. Perhaps we will see you guys again for your last supper in Dublin?!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good Irish Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We ate here based on the recommendation of our hotel. There are good Irish dishes here for a pretty decent price.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoxtyHouse, Public Relations Manager at The Boxty House, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Hi HappyTrails2U100!
We are happy you took your hotels advice and got to experience some traditional dishes in The Boxty House. Thanks a million for taking the time to review us, we hope you had a great trip to Ireland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful Meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

It's a hopping place and you'll likely need reservations, but they're worth it. The food is delicious, the beer is cold, and the servers are a lot of fun. If you are looking for a true Irish pub experience that is family friendly, this is the place for you. I particularly recommend the pick your own stew platter or the corned beef. The Bailey's ice cream was delicious, too. My only advice for the chef would be to keep the basil out of the apple pie. Other than that, 5 stars.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoxtyHouse, Public Relations Manager at The Boxty House, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Hi Tom,
thanks a million for recommending us to others, we were happy to read that you enjoyed your meal so much. Your comments about the dessert are much appreciated as that is a fairly new addition to our menu, we love to receive feedback and listen to our customers.

Thanks again, hopefully we will see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Boxty House also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin

Been to The Boxty House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Boxty House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;