We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Change from a pub & good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Boxty House

The Boxty House
20-21 Temple Bar, Dublin D2, Ireland (Formerly Gallagher's Boxty House)
+353 1 677 2762
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #87 of 1,845 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $28
Cuisines: Pub, Wine Bar, Irish, Seafood, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Dessert, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Our restaurant has been at the beating heart of a dynamic, contemporary community for over 25 years. Our customers experience a genuine taste of modern Ireland, full of eclectic talking points and the warmth of that country kitchen down the west. Today, our restaurant caters for up to 2000 local and international customers a week. The relaxed, warm atmosphere provides a natural habitat for conversation to flow easily and to share stories. Come join us in the heart of Temple Bar, and discover what it means to be Irish. Totally Irish.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Change from a pub & good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We loved our dinner and waiter! Mike was so nice and helped us with what to order. We started with a sampling appetizer that included a Boxty (pancake). My husband had a selection of beers, we enjoyed the lamb stew and lamb burger. Dessert of bread pudding with rum raisin icecream and sauce was tasty as well. It was a change from all the pubs in the area, very friendly, good service and tasty food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoxtyHouse, Public Relations Manager at The Boxty House, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Hi Irene,
great to read that you and your husband experienced a real Irish meal along with Irish hospitality while on your holidays. Sounds like you both really enjoyed the food, so if you would like to try and cook up some Irish Stew or Boxtys when you get home please check out our video recipes on our website. We would love to hear how you get on. Unfortunately we won't be able to share Mike with you though!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,144
    717
    185
    54
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Great overall experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

My last night in Dublin I had a great dinner here: I started with seafood chowder - rich, thick, flavorful and full of seafood. I went on to their lamb stew, which was just as good and a large portion size. With a pint of Murphy's stout and perfect spot for people watching, I had a great experience. And to top it off, waiter Mike was funny and entertaining.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
BoxtyHouse, Public Relations Manager at The Boxty House, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thanks for the wonderfully descriptive review!
Sounds like your meal was delicious, which is what we like to hear!
Our ethos in The Boxy House is good food, good chat, good music & good times (craic) and I think you experienced all of those things. We work hard to deliver a good time to all the customers who come through the door, so we really appreciate you taking the time to review us.
Thanks again and hopefully you will visit us again some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious Food for Weary Travelers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

This was our first meal in Dublin after getting off our flight and getting settled in our hotel so needless to say we were starved. The waiter was excellent-- explaining different dishes to us and giving us plenty of advice on what to do and see in Dublin. My father even lost something while we were out and the waiter recommended a place nearby where he could get a replacement. The food was delicious. All 6 of us were not disappointed.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoxtyHouse, Public Relations Manager at The Boxty House, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Hi Alexandra,
happy to hear that we were able to give you and your family not only a good meal but also a warm welcome!! It was our pleasure to serve you and we're glad our staff could give you guys some info that hopefully made your holiday even more enjoyable!
We really appreciate you taking the time to review us, and hope you and your family enjoyed the rest of your trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Different”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We booked beforehand, and although it was very busy service was very good.
We all tried a dish containing boxty and were unsure about it!
Nice but not what we were expecting

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoxtyHouse, Public Relations Manager at The Boxty House, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Hi Jane,
thanks a million for taking the time to share your experience of The Boxty House with others.
Hopefully your exposure to our boxty has sparked an interest for this wonderful traditional dish! We hope you plan on visiting us again when you return to Dublin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge England
Level Contributor
154 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Great Irish food in the heart of Temple Bar area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Didn't book but managed to get in on a crowded Thursday night. Excellent Irish food, really helpful staff. Only complaint was that we ate too much but of course that was self inflicted. Good value about 35 euros a head including drink and tip.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoxtyHouse, Public Relations Manager at The Boxty House, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Hi and thank you for taking the time to share your experience of The Boxty House with others, We are so pleased that we were able to accommodate you and that you had such a great evening with us. If your only complaint was that you ate too much because it was so good then we can live with that!!! I hope you plan on returning again for another feast!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Boxty House also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to The Boxty House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Boxty House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.