We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Food for Weary Travelers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Boxty House

The Boxty House
20-21 Temple Bar, Dublin D2, Ireland (Formerly Gallagher's Boxty House)
+353 1 677 2762
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #66 of 2,209 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $28
Cuisines: Pub, Wine Bar, Irish, Seafood, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Our restaurant has been at the beating heart of a dynamic, contemporary community for over 25 years. Our customers experience a genuine taste of modern Ireland, full of eclectic talking points and the warmth of that country kitchen down the west. Today, our restaurant caters for up to 2000 local and international customers a week. The relaxed, warm atmosphere provides a natural habitat for conversation to flow easily and to share stories. Come join us in the heart of Temple Bar, and discover what it means to be Irish. Totally Irish.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious Food for Weary Travelers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

This was our first meal in Dublin after getting off our flight and getting settled in our hotel so needless to say we were starved. The waiter was excellent-- explaining different dishes to us and giving us plenty of advice on what to do and see in Dublin. My father even lost something while we were out and the waiter recommended a place nearby where he could get a replacement. The food was delicious. All 6 of us were not disappointed.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoxtyHouse, Public Relations Manager at The Boxty House, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Hi Alexandra,
happy to hear that we were able to give you and your family not only a good meal but also a warm welcome!! It was our pleasure to serve you and we're glad our staff could give you guys some info that hopefully made your holiday even more enjoyable!
We really appreciate you taking the time to review us, and hope you and your family enjoyed the rest of your trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Different”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We booked beforehand, and although it was very busy service was very good.
We all tried a dish containing boxty and were unsure about it!
Nice but not what we were expecting

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank jane53England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoxtyHouse, Public Relations Manager at The Boxty House, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Hi Jane,
thanks a million for taking the time to share your experience of The Boxty House with others.
Hopefully your exposure to our boxty has sparked an interest for this wonderful traditional dish! We hope you plan on visiting us again when you return to Dublin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge England
Level Contributor
215 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Great Irish food in the heart of Temple Bar area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Didn't book but managed to get in on a crowded Thursday night. Excellent Irish food, really helpful staff. Only complaint was that we ate too much but of course that was self inflicted. Good value about 35 euros a head including drink and tip.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank bridgemagoo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoxtyHouse, Public Relations Manager at The Boxty House, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Hi and thank you for taking the time to share your experience of The Boxty House with others, We are so pleased that we were able to accommodate you and that you had such a great evening with us. If your only complaint was that you ate too much because it was so good then we can live with that!!! I hope you plan on returning again for another feast!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

My husband and I eat here every time we come to Dublin. We love the Gaelic Boxty, Chicken Boxty, and the Corned beef. Staff is always friendly. Food is fresh and delicious. Eat early to miss the crowds.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole78374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoxtyHouse, Public Relations Manager at The Boxty House, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
hi Nicole,
Sounds like you have become a regular guest to the boxty house and for that we are truly appreciative. We are just so happy that we are able to continuously provide a great experience for you. Please let us know when you plan on returning and don't hesitate to contact us if there is anything we can do to make your next visit even better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Hands Down, Best Meal in Dublin.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

The food and the service was phenomenal. My (now) husband and I had our wedding rehearsal dinner here the night before our wedding. We booked our reservations for 40 people from TX over emails, needless to say, we were nervous that come the day of the dinner our reservation would just 'disappear' or we would have to wait to be seated - we couldn't have been more wrong. Our emailed reservation was intact, and they had the whole downstairs reserved for us. We probably tried every dish that was on their set menu, and each one was outstanding. Do not miss this place!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AmandaTravelsThere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoxtyHouse, Public Relations Manager at The Boxty House, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Hi Amanda!
Congratulations and we hope the wedding in Clontarf was just as good as the rehearsal!
It would be great to see you guys return for an anniversary dinner some year!

Your party were an absolute pleasure to serve and we really appreciate you taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. The team at The Boxty House wish you guys all the best for your future together.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Boxty House also viewed

 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to The Boxty House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing