We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favourite restaurant in Dublin” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Boxty House

The Boxty House
20-21 Temple Bar, Dublin D2, Ireland (Formerly Gallagher's Boxty House)
+353 1 677 2762
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #84 of 1,891 Restaurants in Dublin
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: Irish, Seafood, Gastropub, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Our restaurant has been at the beating heart of a dynamic, contemporary community for over 25 years. Our customers experience a genuine taste of modern Ireland, full of eclectic talking points and the warmth of that country kitchen down the west. Today, our restaurant caters for up to 2000 local and international customers a week. The relaxed, warm atmosphere provides a natural habitat for conversation to flow easily and to share stories. Come join us in the heart of Temple Bar, and discover what it means to be Irish. Totally Irish.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Favourite restaurant in Dublin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

This was my 2nd time to visit and it was amazing, great food, great staff and a warm atmosphere. Will def be back :)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoxtyHouse, Public Relations Manager at The Boxty House, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Great to read that you have become a regular customer with us! Please let us know when you plan on returning and please keep in touch with us through our facebook page.
we really appreciate you taking the time to leave a review on tripadvisor, see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,797 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    970
    596
    161
    46
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plainsboro, New Jersey
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Delicious Traditional Irish Cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We enjoyed some delicious food here on St. Patrick's day. We had a late lunch/early dinner so we only had to wait a short time for a table to open up. The service was fast and friendly. We both had boxty (potato pancakes) with lamb and beef fillings. The meal was delicious and filling. Great way to try out Traditional Irish cuisine. It is a little on the pricey side, but worth it (it was our most expensive meal while in Ireland). Would recommend to friends and family.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoxtyHouse, Public Relations Manager at The Boxty House, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thanks a million for the great review, we were delighted to read that you were able to enjoy your St. Patrick's day with us and we were able to give you a warm welcome accompanied with some good food!
Thank you for the recommendation and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Very good lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Just back from Dublin where we spent a lovely weekend away with family. We went to the Boxty restaurant and even though we had to wait a little to be seated and served, it was well worth the wait! The waiter was very nice and the food was very nice and honestly priced! Will definitely go back there...

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoxtyHouse, Public Relations Manager at The Boxty House, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Great to hear you enjoyed your time in Dublin so much and managed to fit a visit to The Boxty House into your trip. Thank you for the wonderful review and we hope to see you next time you visit Dublin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great service and good food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Visited here on the Saturday of the easter weekend. Arrived approx 12 and were seated in the window which was good for people watching. We ate from the lunchtime special menu, I Had the lamb stew and hubby had lamb burger with mash and gravy. Both were lovely. The waiting staff were very friendly and efficient.neould recommend you visit!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoxtyHouse, Public Relations Manager at The Boxty House, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful review and recommendation!
So happy to read that you enjoyed everything about your visit with us over Easter, we hope you plan on coming over and visiting us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bletchley Park
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fast, friendly and underwhelming”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We ate from the early-bird menu. The soups were good but the rest of the mains (chicken and vegetarian) were disappointing. The dessert was average. Staff was friendly and service was relatively fast.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoxtyHouse, Public Relations Manager at The Boxty House, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
We were happy to read that our staff were able to provide you with excellent service however were very dismayed to read about your experience with our food.
Your comments have been passed onto our head chef as this is out of character for any of our dishes to be so average.
Thank you very much for bringing this to our attention, if you would like to contact me personally on pog@boxtyhouse.ie to discuss this in further please to not hesitate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Boxty House also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to The Boxty House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Boxty House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.