We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved It!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elephant & Castle

Elephant & Castle
18 Temple Bar, Dublin, Ireland (South City Centre)
01-679-31-21
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #361 of 1,995 Restaurants in Dublin
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: South City Centre
UK
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Loved It!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

This is a favourite of a friend of mine, he lives in Dublin - I can see why he likes it so much!

Great atmosphere and great food. Go for the Chicken Wings, Chips & a Strawberry Cola!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,305 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    487
    507
    179
    72
    60
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Maybe burnt this bridge”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

The Elephant and Castle is an eatery I frequent a lot in Dublin and I have reviewed very favourably on Trip Advisor in the past - as a result I know that they don't take bookings - so when friends from overseas visited Dublin and I raved about the chicken wings we had to go all the way into the city knowing we may have to wait a while for a table - however when we arrived at about 8:30 we were told it would be a few hours for a table and asked by the quite arrogant host why we hadn't booked?..when I asked how i should book a restaurant that doesn't take bookings I was answered that it is policy over Christmas - alas we left and went elsewhere and I have resisted going back since - glad to see a business so busy in the current economic environment though!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The best chicken wings I have ever tasted by far”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

This place is amazing. The food is beautiful, the wings are out of this world. The staff are always friendly and quick and the atmosphere is always buzzing. I have never been dispointed with Elephant Castle. I actully make a point of going at least once every few weeks and its the 1st place I think to bring friends and famil too for a meal when visiting Dublin. I also have seen 'Pink' mention on twitter that she had discovered it when she was in dublin on tour and as impressed by it ..Keep up the good work ....

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great burgers and wings, but impersonal service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Went to get a taste of their famous chicken wings and have to say they didn't disappoint! Went with the younger brother who had the chargrilled burger, which and tasted and have to say it was one of the nicest burgers I've eaten in a while, the meat was extremely flavoursome! However, while the smoked salmon was beautiful, whatever sauce they used on the brown bread just didn't seem to suit the dish. Service was okay, felt a little impersonal for how quiet it was, but maybe thats just me, coming from a waitress background! Only one fault was that the water was served in metal jugs.. It's not hard to find some nice, cheap glassware, which is easily washed and taken care of! Only tiny tiny things, but overall, we had a lovely lunch and will definitely be back again!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch time service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

You have to try the wings here - fabulous. Burgers were great and very good value. Service was efficient and friendly, and the place was bustling at lunch time. Will definitely return.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elephant & Castle also viewed

 

Been to Elephant & Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elephant & Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.