We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always Good!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Doheny & Nesbitt

Doheny & Nesbitt
5 Baggot Street Lower, Dublin, Ireland
1-676 2945
Improve this listing
Ranked #97 of 1,995 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dublin
Top Contributor
497 reviews 497 reviews
336 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
524 helpful votes 524 helpful votes
“Always Good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I like this place. Staff are friendly and pints not too expensive! Try the Guinness. We were at a 30th here last Friday. Never knew there was was an upstairs here!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    59
    10
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A true Irish Pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is one of the best pubs in Dublin. Has not changed in years. You always get a great welcome!! Put it on your list!!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
“Best Pub in the World for a Guinness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

If you are in Dublin and you like Guinness, then you must visit Doheny & Nesbitt. It is a landmark. It is very quaint and when I went there it was not as crowded as some other pubs. The Guinness was mouth-watering. There is nothing like a fresh Guinness.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great pub to visit with friends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Had a great night here with visiting friends. Great buzz about the place and good atmosphere. Didn't get to try to food but hey, sure that's a good excuse to go back!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A great place to begin a vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We had our first meal in Dublin here. We were a little apprehensive whe we first walked in because it just looked like a bar. As we walked further back, we saw tables, and we were welcomed to sit where we wanted. Our server was extremely nice. We all got a good laugh when I had to translate tomato and basil to my mom (a New Yorkers). I had the salmon with capers on a bagel with cream cheese and a pint of Guinness. Their were jerseys all over the bar. We got their about 12:30p and it was quiet. Then about 2p, all of the tables were full with people eating lunch.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Doheny & Nesbitt also viewed

 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Doheny & Nesbitt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doheny & Nesbitt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.