We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chili Club

Chili Club
1 Anne's Lane, South Anne Street | Dublin2, Dublin Dublin 6, Ireland (South City Centre)
1-677 3721
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #418 of 1,820 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: South City Centre
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
260 reviews 260 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“Always Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

The Chili Club is a bit of an institution - apparently it was the first Thai restaurant in Dublin - and it remains delicious. They spruced the place up a couple of years ago, too, so now it's a bit fancier than before, but still well-priced.

I think the best thing about the Chili Club is how veggie-friendly they are. Not only do they have the best satay sauce around, they'll happily make you tofu satay skewers (not on the menu). So great!

Highly recommended if you're in town, starving, and want a quality meal you can depend on. I just wish they delivered!!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    32
    13
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bena, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good Thai cafe on a side street”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

A hundred meters or so off the famed Grafton street-a pedestrian only shopper's mecca-we found this little Thai restaurant door barely lit or visible in the steady rain on a gloomy evening in July-on the right hand side of S. Anne street. Though Dublin seems to have every style of food now, except decent American cooking, Thai was a welcome change from the hotel animal feed we have had for the majority of our 2 week bus tour's itinerary.

It is a small place, and we were almost alone-it was early for Dublin diners. Our waiter, a young fellow but quite personable, helped us decide from a decent menu-my wife had chicken selections-Tom Gar Gai/Gung Hom Pa and I had a satisfactory Masaman curry. A nice hot tea service completed the meal.

I recommend this little cafe highly-it is worth a walk or taxi ride to get there.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Yep lovely place. Food is lovely and service is really good - it is what it is - its nice Thai food - good 3 course menu for €25 pp and the wine is not over priced - white wine starts at €21. Excellent service even though there was only 1 waiter on the floor on a Thursday night but he handled it all really well and there were no delays. Would go back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Lovely Thai food but service hit and miss”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We stumbled here whilst on a weekend stay as it was quite near our hotel and we fancied Thai food. It is up a side street and is quite small. We went on a Sunday night and there were a few other diners so easily got a table. We were able to have the early bird all night(as was a Sunday) and we chose from that. I had tiger prawns and my friend had veg spring rolls to start. A bit on the small side but tasty. I had singapore noodles (very tasty, not too hot and plenty of it). My friend had a chicken in oyster sauce but although qas nice it lacked much sauce and was quite dry so we were unsure where the oyster sauce was. The service was very slow as the one waitress serving kept talking to her friends at the bar and we had to seek her out on a few occasions but that is only a small niggle. Would recommend it as it was good value for what we had.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

Took a break from the "Irish" meals and had a wonderful dinner here. My wife had the Panang curry and I had Singapore noodles with shrimp ... both declicious with just the right amount of heat. And price was quite reasonable.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chili Club also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Chili Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chili Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.