We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chapter One

Chapter One
18-19 Parnell Sq., Dublin, Ireland
01-873-22-66
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 1,890 Restaurants in Dublin
Price range: $1 - $147
Cuisines: European, French, Irish, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dublin
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

A fabulous meal, all courses were presented and served to a high standard. Staff were very attentive.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

883 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    636
    142
    65
    26
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Worth the splurge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We had dinner at Chapter One on recommendation from our concierge in the hotel, and it was worth it. We got lucky with the reservation -- it is apparently booked far in advance, so make sure to plan ahead.

They easily adapted the dishes we wanted to eat for the food allergies at the table. Our companion diners - who ate each dish as the chef imagined them - were incredibly pleased with the flavors and really enjoyed them, as did we, despite the required modifications. Service was attentive without being overbearing, and the sommelier made an adequate recommendation for wine based on a high-level taste profile.

Dinner can be pricey, but the ambiance is lovely and worth the splurge. A must!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Absolute bliss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

Came here after my graduation earlier this month, working in this hospitality industry, it had been a bucket list restaurant of mine and with the blessing of Daddy Dearest, the six of us came down here for a celebration meal. All I can say about it was that it was absolutely faultless. Food was spectacular, so much so that the younger brother, who is terribly picky actually tried what he had ordered and had a clean plate afterwards, not something that happens very often! The welcome was outstanding, it seemed that word had been spread about my grad and was congratulated by what seemed like every member of staff! It truly was the best meal I've ever had, and want to say thank you to everyone in there for making our night so special! You've officially made it onto the Kavanagh family "List" of favourite restaurants!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lovely graceful experience but is it great?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely lunch in the restaurant. The whole experience is what you can expect. Lovely environment, lovely staff, good food. But maybe trying a bit too hard. 3 or 4 times different staff asking us if we were ok is a bit intrusive. Maybe other guests love this type of "attention"? We enjoyed some wel presented and cooked dishes. I do query the spring roll starter. It was well done, but as a concept to keep fish tasting excellent in tin deep fried morsels is difficult I can imagine. It did not deliver the taste it should have at the level the restaurant aspires to.
We both had the hake and it was a lovely dish. I can imagine a bit watery for some, but it was different and we loved the sauce and the fish. As some other reviewers noted, pre dinner drinks are an option and enjoyed this. The pricing of the pre drinks are a bit on the heavy side we felt. You feel as if they pitched them at the maximum level possible which reduces the great welcome feel you get when entering the restaurant.
We did have a great time, but I would not go as far as to say that it was a unique experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

From the greeting staff, to the waiting staff, to the food. This place is a wonderful experience and such a treat. Everything is out of this world.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chapter One also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Chapter One? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chapter One, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.