We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“heavenly food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chapter One

Chapter One
18-19 Parnell Sq., Dublin, Ireland
01-873-22-66
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 1,897 Restaurants in Dublin
Price range: $1 - $147
Cuisines: French, Irish, European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
dublin
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“heavenly food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

the food here is exceptional but it does come however with a high price tag unless of course you go for the pre-theatre menu which is good value for exceptional food.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,084 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    800
    166
    74
    28
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
122 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great meal friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Great meal with innovative dishes such as stuffed pigs tail (as well as more conventional dishes). For the calibre of restaurant the meal was very reasonably priced. The matching wine recommendations were great. If I return to Dublin I'll be eating here again.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randolph, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing meal in Dublin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Most people think of fish n chips and Bangers and Mash when they think of Dublin, but Chapter One is a high-end and high quality restaurant with a flare of french mixed in with Irish. The ambiance is very chic with wonderful art work on the walls.

The food was incredible...perfectly cooked and with perfect portions. We opted for the four course meal and every course was better than the first. In particularly, I had stuffed pig tails that was truly memorable.

The managers were also very engaging where we had a long talk about the difference between Irish restaurants and NYC. Great experience.

If you're in Dublin for a visit, don't miss Chapter One. While I was told it was difficult to make reservations, we went on a Wednesday night and I made the reservations about two weeks in advance without any problems.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A-M-A-ZING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Excellent food at a reasonable price, friendly staff and a nice location which is close to the theatres. Very deserving of its Michelin star. Has unusual dishes (chestnut soup) and twists on classics (buttermilk mash potatoes)

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“not impressed at all”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

don't get me wrong, food was good, service was better and the wines were excellent.
the vote is low because given the reputation of the restaurant, the awards it received (and the price you pay), you expect to be impressed.
Well, this did not happen once during a four course dinner.
Maybe I have been unlucky in my selection, but this is the exact point: you should not have wrong courses in a restaurant of this level.
Nowadays you can find better places to eat in Dublin, with less name but more creativity

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chapter One also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Chapter One? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chapter One, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.