We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing meal in Dublin” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chapter One

Chapter One
18-19 Parnell Sq., Dublin, Ireland
01-873-22-66
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 1,830 Restaurants in Dublin
Price range: $1 - $147
Cuisines: French, Irish, European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations
Randolph, New Jersey, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Amazing meal in Dublin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Most people think of fish n chips and Bangers and Mash when they think of Dublin, but Chapter One is a high-end and high quality restaurant with a flare of french mixed in with Irish. The ambiance is very chic with wonderful art work on the walls.

The food was incredible...perfectly cooked and with perfect portions. We opted for the four course meal and every course was better than the first. In particularly, I had stuffed pig tails that was truly memorable.

The managers were also very engaging where we had a long talk about the difference between Irish restaurants and NYC. Great experience.

If you're in Dublin for a visit, don't miss Chapter One. While I was told it was difficult to make reservations, we went on a Wednesday night and I made the reservations about two weeks in advance without any problems.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

993 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    718
    158
    73
    28
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A-M-A-ZING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Excellent food at a reasonable price, friendly staff and a nice location which is close to the theatres. Very deserving of its Michelin star. Has unusual dishes (chestnut soup) and twists on classics (buttermilk mash potatoes)

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“not impressed at all”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

don't get me wrong, food was good, service was better and the wines were excellent.
the vote is low because given the reputation of the restaurant, the awards it received (and the price you pay), you expect to be impressed.
Well, this did not happen once during a four course dinner.
Maybe I have been unlucky in my selection, but this is the exact point: you should not have wrong courses in a restaurant of this level.
Nowadays you can find better places to eat in Dublin, with less name but more creativity

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“it's good, but with a michelin-* it's onli AVERAGE”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

we have some mixed feelings to comment this restaurant, because we had a earlybird seating from 18 to 20h. the food was good – the restaurant might be one of the best in ireland. it's very stilish. even when we rate the food as good, to us chapter one will be on the brink of loosing their one star michelin. because for such a star, the cuisine has definitely too little *finesse*. the wines by the glass are stiff priced, but the quality does not meet them.
service was very good and friendly.
we would go again into this restaurant, because it's hard to find a better one. but we will screw down our expectations the next time.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“An enjoyable evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I was expecting great things from this restaurant and mostly it achieved. I went to celebrate a special event. The food was excellent. I love dthe burnt onion broth. The waiter was the best I have ever had. But for some reason I left feeling a little disappointed. I think we were unlucky in that the crowd there that night were a bit boisterous and I just wanted a quiet dining experience. But I will try again and I repeat the waiter was the most polite, attentive, unobtrusive waiter I ever had. I made this known to the management, the first time I ever did so.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chapter One also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Chapter One? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chapter One, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.