We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keeping it simple” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Roly's Bistro

Roly's Bistro
7 Ballsbridge Terrace, Dublin 4, Ireland
01-668-26-11
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #152 of 1,797 restaurants in Dublin
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Keeping it simple”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

It's easy to over complicate food and in doing so its also easy to lose sight of what you were trying to acheive. Roly's has managed to avoid doing either of these things. Three of us visited after the recent rugby match and the flamboyant host was quick to accomodate us in the busy dining room despite our lack of reservation. The service was brisk but friendly, the food simple and well cooked and presented. The duck main was particularly good as was the ribeye steak. There was nothing particularly outstanding but then thats the point. Good hearty food, served quickly. Done.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rolysbistro, General Manager at Roly's Bistro, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind comments.They have been passed on to staff members who really appreciate them Paul Cartwright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

839 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    413
    265
    96
    40
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Ireland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Very good meal BUT”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Lovely meal, the dublin bay prawns were as good as I have eaten and the family enjoyed the occasion UNTIL I asked for the bill. It is not only Roly's but I think restaurants in general then think well they are finished their meal they can wait. When a customer asks for the bill they are asking for 2 things. Namely to pay for what they owe and they are signalling that they also want to go. To keep them waiting is very frustrating and unsatisfactory. The last thing is that on leaving we asked for a taxi and were told by lady at reception that they were outside-which they were not. You should not have to go back into a restaurant to ask them a second time

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rolysbistro, General Manager at Roly's Bistro, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments about the restaurant They are very much appreciated by all. My apology regards the delay in presenting the bill I agree it is unacceptable As regards the taxi for quiet some time there have been taxis permanently outside the door hence the assumption of the staff member Again I agree they should have checked These matters have been brought to the attention of all staff involved Paul Cartwright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronneby, Sweden
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent food and family freindly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

The family arrived here late on a Thursday evening with tired and hungry children. The staff was very friendly and helped to arrange a table for us. The service was fast and accommodating and the food was so good, it was delicious. The place was very busy when we arrived so as a family we really appreciate the way they took care of us and the food we got. The Bailey's cheese cake is on of the nicest desserts we have ever eaten.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rolysbistro, General Manager at Roly's Bistro, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for your very generous and kind comments about the restaurant.We really do appreciate them as they make our work so much easier Paul Cartwright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow.Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Top Spot....but”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Establishment is one of if not the best in Dublin. My wife and I went for lunch which was in essence simple fair…a wonderful wild mushroom soup and superb pate to start, followed by a wonderful salmon dish with superb flavours set on top of spinach with sublime flavours and a stuffed chicken with again wonderful tastes, accompanying vegetables and potatoes were wonderful. For dessert we had a lovely cheesecake and a fruit crumble that was heaven. Two super cappuccinos completed a wonderful experience. This is wonderful food cooked with passion and experience.
I am sorry to say that the service did not match. Our arrival downstairs was not acknowledged for some time and eventually a very busy young man took us to the restaurant. There was some delay as we asked when booking for chairs to sit on as opposed to bunk seats. Eventually we were shown to our table and the menus were left on the table (whatever happened to seating guests properly and presenting menus when they are seated). Our order was taken promptly and on all occasions I was served first (why? a classic mistake). As we were almost finished our main courses we were asked if everything was alright.Let me be clear as regards service we were anonymous and no one seemed to care. Yes we did not have to wait and look for anything. In essence the superb food was not matched by superb service. There were lots of staff on service…too many really.
Despite all this we would gladly return to this restaurant and with a few directives and approaches it would be and should be the best in Dublin!!


Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rolysbistro, General Manager at Roly's Bistro, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you indeed for your very kind comments concerning our food My apologies for the lack of detail in the service I have brought the points you mentioned to the staff involved.my mob is 0868135655 and should you w ish call me prior to your next visit Paul catwright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“An old bastion that needs serious attention”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Roly's for me was a treat a real luxury when I was younger. I brought my family there recently and was very disappointed. The interior is shabby, the floors leading to the restaurant were disheveled and the carpets dirty. I was annoyed by the tightness of the tables as the waiters had to knock me out of my seating several times during the course of our meal. The food too was disappointing. My dish was fine but the presentation was very poor. My mothers dish was cold and again the presentation was extremely poor. I would recommend an overhaul and a relook at how the food is presented for the 21st century.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rolysbistro, General Manager at Roly's Bistro, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
I regret very much that you did not enjoy your recent visit to Roly's. I would appreciate an opportunity to speak with and discuss the issues raised.My mob is 0868135655 .we receive many many compliments about both our food and presentation and find it difficult to understand the very negative comments regards Paul cartwright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roly's Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Roly's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roly's Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.