We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Patrick Guilbaud

Restaurant Patrick Guilbaud
21 Merrion Street Upper, Dublin D2, Ireland (South City Centre)
(0) 1-676 4192
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 1,813 restaurants in Dublin
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: South City Centre
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

My husband and I went to Patrick Guilbaud's for my birthday dinner last Friday and had a wonderful experience. We chose the 4 course degustation menu which was made of dishes that were the chef's choice. All were amazing and food we loved. The wine we had was lovely as well. We found the staff to be friendly and professional.

If I was to have one compliant, it would be that my husband advised upon confirming the reservation that is was my birthday and yet it was ignored. There is also an opportunity to indicate if it is a special occasion when booking on-line. Having that creates an expectation that the occasion will be recognised and when it is not there is only disappointment.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    355
    58
    33
    18
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“food as expected but don't expect to have much fun”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

The menu and food was what one would expect for a 2 star Michelin restaurant. The problem is the service staff they are rather phony and kind of snippy, especially the wine stewards. We mentioned to them our trip to Ireland was for our 25th anniversary and they didn't even congratulate us. Its just too hard to relax there. We also stayed at the Merrion, in which the restaurant is located, and every single one of the Merrion staff was so terrific and friendly the difference was markedly noticeable. You can eat just as well and have a lot more fun at several other places in Dublin.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good food but poor service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We regularly try the top 100 restaurants in the world such as the Fat Duck, Dinner St Johns etc. We chose this restaurant because it had two Michelin stars. The food and wine were excellent but it had the least helpful staff we have ever encountered in a top rated restaurant. The staff refused to tell us what was in the degustation menu so we could make an informed choice. We were particularly interested in a couple of dishes and wanted to know if they were included. Not good enough for a meal that cost 500 euro for two.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin ireland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“The best restaurant in Ireland.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I had lunch here recently and it's great to eat in a restaurant with such consistency. The food is superb, the service is seamless and the wine list is to die for.
.
RPG is the only two star restaurant in Ireland.

I'm surprised to see it down around thirteen in Dublin on trip advisor, because if you're a visitor to Dublin and you like fine food, look no further.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Superb Cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Everything about this restaurant is first class. Expensive but you do get what you pay for, wonderful food , terrific ambience, great service from being greeted to departing. Its an absolute treat.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Patrick Guilbaud also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin

Been to Restaurant Patrick Guilbaud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Patrick Guilbaud, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.