We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An annual indulgence” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Patrick Guilbaud

Restaurant Patrick Guilbaud
21 Merrion Street Upper, Dublin D2, Ireland (South City Centre)
(0) 1-676 4192
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 1,883 Restaurants in Dublin
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: South City Centre
Devon
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
305 helpful votes 305 helpful votes
“An annual indulgence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

This superb 2* Michelin restaurant has become, for us, an annual indulgence which is anticipated with pleasure for the previous 11 months! Food is of the finest possible quality skillfully and lovingly produced with the emphasis on quality rather than quantity so one may enjoy several, delicious, intensely flavoured courses without being overwhelmed by mountains of vegetables. Service, as one would expect in a 2* Michelin, is faultless – a regiment of immaculately turned out, professional waiters anticipate the diners’ every wish; tables are beautifully set with spotless napery and sparkling glass and cutlery. Monsieur Guillbaud is a charming host who has a few words with every table and it is a pleasure and a privilege to dine at his establishment.

Two Michelin stars are not lightly awarded and this sort of perfection does not come cheap! (€756 for four people in our case, including a well-earned tip). The restaurant is a pilgrimage for serious epicures in Ireland (and beyond) and is invariably busy so early reservation is essential. One is required to confirm one’s booking a few days in advance and inconsiderate customers are discouraged from defaulting on their reservation with a €50 per head “no-show” charge.

I cannot wait to return next year.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    422
    63
    43
    19
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Concord, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A 64th birthday extravaganza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

A surprise for by husband of 39 years. One of those perfect nights - outstanding food, service ambiance. M. Guilbaud introduced himself to every diner, with great charm. It's very expensive ($400 for 2) but worth the price for special celebrations.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N Ireland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Superb dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Visited the restaurant as a party of five. Service from the start was excellent, the quality, presentation and flavour of the food was superb. Patrick Guilbaud visited the table and sought our views on our dining experience which to me showed a genuine commitment to quality and standards. The extra little treats between courses were delightful and excited not only our taste buds but our conversation. While the entire meal was simply divine, my highlight was suckling pig croquettes with foie gras and quails egg. To finish the cheese trolley is a must for cheese lovers, ask the sommelier to recommend a port to compliment your choice. None of this comes cheaply but given the attention to detail, level of service and quality of food no one should expect it to.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“La Expensive Maison”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Had dinner here while in Dublin, wanted to try Michelin 2 star. Food was good, did one of the fixed price selections where you get appetizer, dinner and dessert. My wife and i also had a bottle of wine. Lots of waiters and French people milling around to serve you and take the plates away, etc. I wasn't "wowed" by the food, it was good but not great like I expected. When the bill came and I translated back to dollars I felt ripped off. I could have eaten 3 nice dinners at other great Dublin restaurants for the price they charged here... Unless you have money to burn go somewhere else.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Boldon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good but Expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

The genuine Michelin experience in old Dublin town.
Can get a wee bit expensive though.
We blew 600 Euros between two of us!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Patrick Guilbaud also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Restaurant Patrick Guilbaud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Patrick Guilbaud, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.