We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not very inviting” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Ferryman

The Ferryman
35 Sir John Rogersons Quay, Dublin 2, Ireland
+353 (0)1 671 7053
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #274 of 612 things to do in Dublin
Activities: Drinking
Attraction details
Mandurah
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Not very inviting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Your typical Irish pub, old, not much character, right on the River Liffey, but no facility to sit outside, not that you would want to. Away from the usual tourist area.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    34
    8
    2
    13
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great Buzz”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Stopped off in here on Friday last after work(6.30pm ish). Great atmosphere. Lots of people who had the same idea. It's surprisingly large on ground and basement level. Certainly worth a visit if in the neighbourhood. I will definitely be back. Good clientele.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narragansett, Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great room and location for price!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

Our room (#2) had a terrific view of the Samuel Beckett Bridge. It was so beautiful we hardly wanted to shut the curtains at night. The breakfast provided was made to order. Very nice locale. Just a hop, skip, and a jump from everything downtown in Dublin. Close to public transportation. Bartender, Jimmy, was nice enough to set us up with transportation to airport on our departure. Reasonably priced. yes, it was a bit noisy, but hey, we expected that...we are staying above a bar for Pete's sake. if you don;t like noise then don;t stay here (or don;t complain about it).

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“lovely traditional pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

Great athmosphere.....quick service even tho very busy.A little too crowded initially. Went back next day to see it properly.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare, Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“ONE VERY RUDE BAR MAN.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

MY FIRST TIME TO THE FERRY MAN, THE PLACE HAS A LOVELY ATMOSPHERE EXCEPT FOR ONE OLDER BARMAN . FLOOR STAFF (GIRL) VERY NICE , I was at the dirty dancing show thursday night, when it came to my round which cost approx. €35.00, to my disgust, the barman was extremely rude, it seemed to me that I was inconvinencing him with my order and my method of payment which was Laser. As I work in the hospitality industry I was horrified to come across a barman so rude and inpolite. After such a great evening it was such a disappointment to the end of our evening.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ferryman also viewed

Howth, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to The Ferryman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ferryman, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.