We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a Mother/Daughter Trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bellgrove B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Bellgrove B&B to your Saves list
Bellgrove B&B
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   302 Howth Road | Killester, Dublin 5, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 162 Dublin B&B and Inns
Washington, DC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect for a Mother/Daughter Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2009

Wonderful Hospitality, Excellent Service, Friendly and Informative Hosts, Clean and Comfortable Rooms and Delicious Breakfasts!

I stayed at the Bellgrove B&B for two nights with my mom and sister. We had the en-suite guest room. It was very tidy and welcoming, comfortable and a good size for three people sharing. Gussie and her husband are wonderful. She offered the best advice on how to make the most of our time in Dublin and really contributed to a great experience. The public bus route runs right along Howth Road and there is a stop (going in each direction) right outside Bellgrove. Yet, even being on one of the main public roads, our room was not noisy as all.

My mom, sister and I do not need a lot of Frills to be impressed or satisfied. However, cleanliness, comfortable accommodations, hospitality and a personal touch are always very important and the Bellgrove House did not let us down.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    11
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
15
17
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2009

We stayed 4 nights with Paul & Gussie - 3 nights at the beginning of our vacation and 1 night at the end. It's the perfect location - not far from the airport but an easy bus ride from outside their door into the city, getting off at the last stop (so easy!). And coming back by bus we had about 4 or 5 buses to choose from so never had to wait long. But besides the perfect location, Paul and Gussie were great. They provided comfortable rooms, delicious breakfasts, and lots of useful sightseeing advice.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2008

Stay here. That's all I can say. But if you need more: Gussie and Paul are warm and welcoming, charming, and helpful. We stayed only one night, but I would definitely book again for a longer stay. The location is just minutes from the City Centre, literally right at the City Bus stop, and also ideally located for the airport. Our room was large and very comfortable, attractively decorated. Gussie's breakfast with homemade scones was the best I'd had in 3 weeks, and my only regret was that this was the one meal I truly wanted to linger over, rather than dashing off to the airport (the cab, summoned by Paul, being right on time). I couldn't have asked for more, other than more time to stay in this pleasant and home-like haven.

  • Liked — Proprietors
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2007

We stayed at Gussie's and Paul's Bellgrove in Dublin 3 nights and really enjoyed our stay. The place is excellent, service, rooms, breakfast, location, everything. Bus stops and a railway/DART station very near by. We went to see wonderful sunset in the harbour villages of Howth and Dun Laoghaire, their piers. That was very easy with the DART.

Gussie gave us useful advice (attractions, shopping, transportation etc), both in advance by e-mail and when we were in Ireland. The place has even won awards (Highly Commended Award Winner 2004 & 2005 and Certificate of Merit 2006), and it is certainly worth of them. M&M&S

Stayed August 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bellgrove B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellgrove B&B

Address: 302 Howth Road | Killester, Dublin 5, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 162 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bellgrove B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Bellgrove. We take great pride in our home and try to make each of our guests feel as comfortable as possible. Born and living in Dublin all our lives, we take great pride in our city and have vast knowledge of what our city has to offer our visitors. We can tell you the do's and don'ts of Dublin. Bellgrove is a bungalow with no stairs or steps and we have one room with private bathroom for wheelchair users. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Bellgrove B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bellgrove B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.