We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dream stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maldron Hotel Parnell Square

Save Saved
You added Maldron Hotel Parnell Square to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Maldron Hotel Parnell Square
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Parnell Square West, Dublin D1, Ireland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Exclusive Offer
Ranked #28 of 177 hotels in Dublin
GreenLeadersSilver level
london
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“dream stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

My wife and I travelled here for the first time earlier this month. As it was our first wedding anniversary, we had sent an email after booking the room requesting a room with a nice view/balcony to make it extra special. On arrival, we were greeted with warmth and smiles and told we were in a suite at no extra cost. At that point I'm sure we both screamed in delight inside. Staying on the top floor, we opened the door into the suite and were welcomed by red wine and chocolates. The room was extremely clean and had all the things you could need: kettle, iron, trouser press etc. We stepped out onto the balcony and it was that big you felt like the king and queen of Dublin. Had brilliant panoramic views of the town and mountains.
We ate both dinner and breakfast at the hotel and have to mention it was exquisite. The only problem we encountered was an uncooked burger but the staff were so hospitable we were given free drinks and dessert for the inconvenience.
The staff were all very helpful too whether it be from checking in and out, booking us tours or general information. Would def stay again!!

Room Tip: I'm sure all rooms will be perfect but for that special touch it's got to be the suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilipUzice, Philip Uzice, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Parnell Square, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Dayl1,
Thank you so much for your wonderful review on tripadvisor.

The entire team were delighted you had such an enjoyable stay with us and we really hope the little touches helped to make your anniversary a special one.
Once again thank you for the special review and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Philip Uzice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,919 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    875
    768
    198
    50
    28
See reviews for
220
805
114
178
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ennis, Clare, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I am honestly not happy, the management is not paying attention with details were a couple and booked advance the hotel and when we arrive they put as in a three single beds which the room so compacted and leave us no space to move around.But the room is clean but not clean enough when i move the curtain it so dusty in the window and we end up sneezing. The japanese girl in the reception is very nice and helpful but the guy isn't approchable he just move around his eyes instead of greeting us.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilipUzice, Philip Uzice, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Parnell Square, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Sweetbloodymary,

I was very upset and concerned to read your review on tripadvisor.

Customer service and cleanliness are two areas we strive to excel at there at the Maldron Hotel Parnell Square, and I was very upset to see that we failed on both of these areas during your stay.

The accommodation manager and I have spoken to each member of the team in accommodation to ensure it is understood that cleanliness is vitally important and the standard of cleanliness must always be exceptional. Most comments we receive comment on how clean the hotel is and this is what we strive to receive for every guest. I can only apologise that we failed on this occasion and I can assure you that your comments will be used as training for the team to ensure this does not happen in future.
Customer service is an area that in general excel at, as can be seen from the many reviews below. These comments have been passed to the front office manager who will investigate the matter fully and speak to the team member involved.

Once again we thank you for your feedback and I can assure you all of your comments will be taken on board and used to improve the hotel as a whole.

We do hope you return to the hotel where we can prove that the standard of service offered is much better than you experienced.

Kind Regards

Philip Uzice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

I absolutely loved staying at the Maldron Parnell Square. From the moment my husband and I arrived at the hotel the staff were very welcoming and extremely helpful. As we had wanted to do the dublin tour they sold us two tickets for rhe tour bus and gave us information about where to get the bus from. This saved us having to go and buy the tickets from the ticket office. The staff at reception and restaurant were all extremely friendly and were always willing to help. This was a special occassion for my husband and myself and we were so happy to be given the hotel suite. Thank you again to the staff. I will definitely stay here again. Very good customer service, the room was lovely and clean and the breakfast is worth it too. Great value for money overall

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilipUzice, Philip Uzice, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Parnell Square, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear SabrinaLouis,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a positive review on tripadvisor.

The entire team were delighted with your comments and very happy to receive such positive feedback, in particular about the good customer service. This is an area we strive to excel at, at all times and we were delighted we succeeded.

Thank you once again for the great feedback and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Philip Uzice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay here, booked after its value for money and fellow trip advisor reviews. It did not disappoint, lovely modern and friendly hotel. Room amazing and the staff are extremely helpful and speedy in their response. We tried breakfast one day, was lovely, recommend getting 9euro voucher the night before (12on the day).

It's location is perfect, 5 minute walk from O'Connel street, and brilliant transport links, I recommend a 3 day Ramblar ticket for Dublin, 15euro for all bus services in Dublin, including airlink bus (747).

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Dublin and the Maldron.

Room Tip: Get breakfast voucher the night before for 9euro's.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilipUzice, Philip Uzice, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Parnell Square, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Emilou22mac,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a lovely review on tripadvisor.

The entire team were delighted to receive such positive feedback and were delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Once again thank you for your review and we do hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Philip Uzice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

This place is everything I dislike about large hotels. Production fodder, zero character, sterile atmosphere, very few smiles. Basically, this place is somewhere to rest your head and that's it. It won't enhance any stay in Dublin, which I think a good hotel would do. To top it all off, the breakfast was absolutely abysmal! It was a poorly cooked mix of the cheapest ingredients you could imagine. The baked beans were bullet hard, the sausages were....in fact I dont want to think about what was in them....the scrambled eggs were microwaved to within an inch of their lives, the black and white pudding were just different coloured lumps of gristle. I'm really sorry, but it was just indelible.

To these guys you are just an experiment in their attempt at maximising revenue whilst minimising character, quality and costs.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilipUzice, Philip Uzice, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Parnell Square, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear AvidTraveller684,

I was very concerned and disappointed to hear you were unhappy with your stay.

I was very disappointed and upset that you found the staff to be unfriendly. Customer service is an area we strive to excel at and as can be seen from the many other reviews the staff usually receive very positive comments. Full training will be done with the entire team to ensure that these comments are used to motivate and improve the team to do much better.

I was also very concerned about your comments about breakfast. We have received a lot of positive feedback about breakfast in the hotel as well as on tripadvisor so comments such as yours cause great concern as we strive to ensure there is a consistency of a high standard breakfast served to all guests. Both the chef and I are going through all of your comments in detail to aim to improve any areas we were found lacking.

Once again thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback and I can assure you that all of your comments will be taken on board on used to improve us for the future.


Kind Regards

Philip Uzice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for six nights during our first trip to Dublin. Great hotel with a modern theme throughout. The property is located in a more residential area of the city, and only about a 8-10 minute walk to city center, Temple Bar and Grafton Street. We came and went from the hotel during all hours of the day and night and always felt safe. Very clean rooms and friendly service exceeded our expectations. We only had breakfast at the hotel one time during our stay but it was very good and is recommended if you're in a hurry or don't know where else to go. Great experience and great hotel.

Side note - We were not supposed to be able to check in until about 3pm on the Thursday we arrived, however due to a last minute schedule change we landed it the Dublin airport at about 4am Thursday, eleven hours before check-in. We were thrilled when they had an available room for us to check into early so we were able to get a few hours sleep before setting out in the morning.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilipUzice, Philip Uzice, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Parnell Square, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Chris P,

Thank you for taking the time your wonderful review on tripadvisor.
We were delighted to receive such positive feedback.
We do hope to welcome you back to the Maldron Hotel Parnell Square in the near future and we thank you once again for your comments.

Kind Regards
Philip Uzice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dukinfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

The service was second to none. They were very helpful when my handbag with my phone, and ipad and purse was stollen. They were sincerely interested if I was ok, and only cared about the bill when I asked them. The room was spacious and clean, and they moved me when asked to a room on a non smoking floor instead of the room that was non smoking on a mixed floor. Great central location and the beds were both very comfy! I would definitely stay again and reccommend it to others.

Room Tip: If you want a non smoking room make sure you request it on a non smoking floor too. Otherwise, I thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilipUzice, Philip Uzice, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Parnell Square, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Alaskastephanie,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review on tripadvisor.

Once again we were very sorry to hear about your issue with your items being stolen and we do hope you managed to get everything sorted out.

The staff were delighted to receive the positive feedback and we do hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,

Philip Uzice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Maldron Hotel Parnell Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maldron Hotel Parnell Square

Address: Parnell Square West, Dublin D1, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Dublin
#14 Business Hotel in Dublin
#30 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#32 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Maldron Hotel Parnell Square 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Parnell Square Dublin 1, Maldron Hotel Parnell Square offers guest contemporary and stylish accommodation right in the city centre. Close to all tourist attractions including Hugh Lane Gallery, James Joyce Centre, Trinity College, Christchurch Cathedral, and shopping and entertainment. Nearby business districts at IFSC and Eastpoint Business Park are both a short driving distance. Free internet access, onsite parking (€fee), spacious bedrooms, 3 meeting rooms and Stir Restaurant and Cafe Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Maldron Hotel Parnell Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maldron Hotel Dublin
Comfort Inn Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maldron Hotel Parnell Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.