We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“December Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maldron Hotel Parnell Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Maldron Hotel Parnell Square to your Saves list
Maldron Hotel Parnell Square
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Parnell Square West, Dublin D1, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 174 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Clydebank, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“December Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Stayed here for 5 days in December 2012 and it was by total chance I came across this on a website. All my family stay in Dublin and I always stay as close to them as I can. As I remember, this was a wax museum when I grew up and didn't know it was converted into a hotel until I visited! Great location, great prices and very helpful staff! Food is great at night also and we visited on a few occasions. Only point I would raise would be that the bar doesn't open until later on which can be annoying if you need a soft drink but apart from that excellent all round!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilipUzice, Philip Uzice, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Parnell Square, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Danielle A,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on tripadvisor.
I was delighted you found the staff to be so helpful and the location to be so convenient.
We are constantly striving to improve our standards and quality in the restaurant and the chef was delighted to receive such positive feedback.
Unfortunately currently the bar does not open until the afternoon but this is an area we can look to improve, alternatively there is a vending machine located in the lobby where snacks and soft drinks can be purchased at any time.
Thank you once again for your review and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards
Philip Uzice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    975
    859
    253
    60
    31
See reviews for
260
979
136
204
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

The Maldron Hotel,Parnell Square is centrally located.It's only 3 minutes walk to O'Connell Street,Dublin. The staff are friendly and efficient. I paid €107 for two nights (Sunday/Monday) which is very reasonable for Dublin City centre. The room was lovely and decorated in a modern style. It was my first time staying there but it won't be my last. Would highly recommend this Maldron hotel.

Room Tip: Just tell the staff what you want.They are very helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilipUzice, Philip Uzice, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Parnell Square, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Joseph M,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a positive review on tripadvisor.
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and the team your positive feedback on our customer service gave a great boost to the entire team.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Maldron Hotel Parnell Square in the near future.

Kind Regards
Philip Uzice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

My friend and I stayed at the hotel for two nights at the end of Feb. It was a special occassion so I sent a note in advance to request a nice room/view. When we arrived the Front Desk staff were in the process of finding a nice room for us. The two women working at the time were so accomodating. We were given a bigger, family size room on a high floor. We purchased the advance breakfast vouchers for 9 euros and it was definitely worth it. Lots of hot and cold food to set us up for the day. The bathroom was very clean and spacious. I really can't complain about anything - I would 100% recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Make any requests in advance - staff were so accomodating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilipUzice, Philip Uzice, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Parnell Square, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Jessica 2809,

Thank you for posting such a positive review on tripadvisor.
The team were delighted to receive such positive feedback regarding the customer service throughout your stay.
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and do hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards
Philip Uzice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strangford, null, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I have stayed here twice before on business and found it good value for money. Only £43 per night via the Internet. Fast wifi and nice rooms. The only downside is parking. They have 10 spaces available in a underground car park, however you must request a parking space before you arrive. Otherwise it's on street parking.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilipUzice, Philip Uzice, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Parnell Square, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Peter M,
Thank you for posting such a positive review on tripadvisor.
We were delighted to receive such positive feedback on your stays.
Unfortunately we do only have a very limited amount of spaces in the hotel car park. There is on street car parking in the area as well as the nearby multi-storey car park that offers a rate of €13.50 for 24 hours.
Once again thank you for taking the time to post a review on tripadvisor and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards
Philip Uzice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I chose this hotel because it sounded easy to get to and from the airport and it was. Just a 5 minute walk from the airport bus stop. You can easily walk to most of the attractions from here. Our room was spacious, clean and quiet with crisp sheets on the comfortable bed. The bathroom was lovely although we were promised toilettries and all there was were soap and shampoo. We ate breakfast there one morning but it was expensive and nothing special - a walk into town would have produced a much better and cheaper one.
Staff here were very helpful and knowledgeable and out 3 night stay was most enjoyable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilipUzice, Philip Uzice, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Parnell Square, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Pelican23,

Thank you so much for your positive review on tripadvisor.

I agree that our location is convenient and a great advantage to us. Being such a central property it ensures that guests are only walking distances from many of Dublin’s main attractions as well as the public transport systems.
I am very sorry you were disappointed with the breakfast during your stay. You can purchase breakfast on arrival for a discounted rate, and there is a wide selection on both the hot and cold buffet.
We appreciate all feedback as it helps us to learn and grow as a business and we will use your feedback to re-look at the breakfast offerings to ensure the best standard and quality is offered.
Once again we thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Maldron Hotel Parnell Square in the near future.

Kind Regards
Philip Uzice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I stayed in the Maldron for an overnight while on business in Dublin. The room was spacious and clean. After socialising in the evening i returned to the hotel at about 11.00pm. I went to get a drink from the bar and noticed the shutters half down so went to reception to ask if the bar was open and was told it was. when i returned to the bar a lady came and unlocked the door and went to get my drink. She had to go to the reception to get the change and then locked the door again and returned to the reception area. On leaving to go to my room a few other people arrived and i informed them they had to go to reception to ask for the bar person.
In the morning i went for breakfast and was not very impressed with the food especially the sausage and bacon were just warm and not hot. The staff in the restaurant were very nice and i requested a fried egg which they obliged, Altogether i wont be in too much of a hurry to book again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnoldswick, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Having never been to Dublin before it was quite difficult to know where to book a hotel, that was not too close to the noise yet not too far away from the action. Well we found it, very lucky, just of upper O'Connell Street, Parnell Square is in a relatively quiet location. The building looked new and decorated inside to a very good standard. 'The Bed' was enormous and so comfy, the room was of a very good size too. The shower had good pressure and plenty of hot water!! Breakfast was 9euros if booked in advance, cereal, fruit, breads, toast, cooked irish breakfast, smoothies, fruit. As much as you can eat for 9 euros (12 if you didn't pre book the night before!!)
Would definately recommend

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maldron Hotel Parnell Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maldron Hotel Parnell Square

Address: Parnell Square West, Dublin D1, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Dublin
#32 Family Hotel in Dublin
#32 Business Hotel in Dublin
#42 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Maldron Hotel Parnell Square 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Parnell Square Dublin 1, Maldron Hotel Parnell Square offers guest contemporary and stylish accommodation right in the city centre. Close to all tourist attractions including Hugh Lane Gallery, James Joyce Centre, Trinity College, Christchurch Cathedral, and shopping and entertainment. Nearby business districts at IFSC and Eastpoint Business Park are both a short driving distance. Free internet access, onsite parking (€fee), spacious bedrooms, 3 meeting rooms and Stir Restaurant and Cafe Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, EasyToBook, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Maldron Hotel Parnell Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maldron Hotel Dublin
Comfort Inn Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maldron Hotel Parnell Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.