We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A picturebook B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nua Haven

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dublin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nua Haven
Save
You added Nua Haven to your Saves list
41, Priory Road | Harold's Cross, Dublin 6W, Ireland (Rathfarnham)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #106 of 162 Dublin B&B and Inns
Leeuwarden, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A picturebook B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2008

Spotlessly clean, equipt with good beds, a fair price and a nice and considerate landlord; Nua Haven has it all.

Not in the citycenter (it's in Harold's Cross suburb), but that feature also has a healty influence on the quality of your (REM-)sleep, Dublin fast becoming the party capital of Europe ...
The bus stop is a 200m walk away, and the bus will take you in around 10 minutes to the citycenter, so that's not a giant quest.

Breakfast is very much above average with for Dutch visitors the added advantage of Douwe Egberts coffee, so your Java will be AOK. The property also has (free & working!) wireless internet, which is sadly a too rare commodity in B&B's en hotels in the same price bracket.

So if your planning a trip to Dublin, NUA Haven is the place to lay your head at night.

  • Liked — the atmosphere of the place
  • Disliked — it was what i expected of it, so there was nothing wrong about it.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    6
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
2
12
11
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wellington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2008

Nua Haven is a great location, close to the city with good parking and easy public transport or taxi options. Bruno and Michael are pleasant hosts. The rooms are minimalist with no-frills but do the job. Self-serve breakfast great for those that want a leisurely start to the day, and is available anytime from 8-12noon. The lack of access to tea making facilities is a bit of a pain for those that need a late night cuppa.

  • Liked — Minimalist style and location
  • Disliked — No access to tea making facilities after noon
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phillyguys
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2008

We stayed at Nua Haven for one night on our way through Dublin. We had a nice time and wish that we could have stayed longer.

It is located in a quiet neighborhood about one block from a bus that takes you directly to downtown Dublin. The bus ride is about 15 minutes.

The accomodations were clean and quiet. Bruno the owner and host was very friendly.

Overall, a good value.

Stayed May 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provincetown, Massachusetts
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2008

Nua Haven was the perfect place for this newcomer to Dublin. A relatively easy 10-15 bus ride from the center of Dublin, Nua Haven looks out on a quiet square which during my visit was calm and peaceful. The room and bed were the most comfortable in my 3 week journey. Bruno, the quiet host does not "stand on ceremony" and unlike most American B&B's, guests take an active role in breakfast, but the payoff is the community feeling at the long table. Good, wholesome food, and good conversation is had here.
Always ready with suggestions on things to do, Bruno even had bus change ready for me as I had not made many purchases yet. I felt taken care of and cared for at Nua Haven~~a nice welcome from the bustle of downtown Dublin.
Clean, simple and very comfortable-

  • Liked — Super Comfortable Bed
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2008

The two of us stayed there only for one night but we enjoyed it very much. It's very clean, simple, stylish and modern (an old but renovated property) in a peaceful suburb of Dublin.

Getting there from Dublin centre is a 10 Euro taxi ride or a 1.50 bus ride (the bus stop is nearby). It's quite easy.

Bed - comfortable, rooms include cable t.v. Hosts - very welcoming and helpful. We'd stay there again.

Stayed September 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2008

My visit at Nua Haven was the worst ever. It started by waiting at the door upon arrival for a very long time because the employee forgot I was arriving that day.

During my stay, I was given tasteless food and my "living area" consisted of my room. The common area was closed and locked after breakfast, which was disappointing in taste and variety (cereal, toaster to make your own toast, etc.) The room had only one small shelf and only three knobs on which to hang things.

The owners did not provide soap to shower, even though the room is priced at 100 EU per night, and fresh towels were never provided or offered.

The location requires an expensive taxi ride to the center and no decent restaurants are nearby. If you buy some of the take-away food at a nearby "restaurant", you are not allowed to take it (or any food) to your room.

The owner was rude and unhelpful.

Do not spend your money here!!!

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — The staff, the breakfast, and the locaton.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2008

Very comfortable rooms, great hosts and healthy breakfasts. It was a pleasure to stay in a relaxed, quiet atmosphere. It was close enough to the city center to walk, cab or bus. We'd definitely stay there again.

Stayed April 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nua Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nua Haven

Address: 41, Priory Road | Harold's Cross, Dublin 6W, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > Rathfarnham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 162 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NUA HAVEN is situated on a beautiful square in Harold's Cross - 10 minutes south of the busy dublin scene by bus or a nice walk, which takes you past Dublin's famous Christchurch and St Patrick's cathedrals and over our wonderful Grand Canal. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nua Haven Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nua Haven, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.