We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Fit for Our Dublin Visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Dublin

Save Saved
You added Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Dublin to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Dublin
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Golden Lane, Dublin 8, Ireland (Formerly Radisson SAS)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 178 hotels in Dublin
Bellingham WA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Wonderful Fit for Our Dublin Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We couldn't have been more pleased with this hotel. While the hotel was fully booked the night before, they were able to accommodate an early check-in for us by 11am. That is always welcome after an early arriving flight from the US. The business class room was spacious with room for our large suitcases and had lots of storage area in the bathroom for easy access to one's toiletries. The room also had a sofa which is so nice for longer stays. The hotel room #332 was very quiet. It was on the terrace side at the back of the hotel. We left the window open at night for wonderful fresh air and were not bothered by noise at all. This surprised us as we were only a few blocks from all the city center activity. St. Patrick"s Cathedral was only 2 blocks away.

The room and common areas of the hotel are in very good condition and are very clean. Housekeeping was excellent. They responded to special request quickly and were responsive when we wanted the room cleaned by a specific time. We liked the bar area which served a surprising large menu which included more than typical bar fare which was very well prepared and presented.

The staff in every area was knowledgeable, friendly, and responsive. We were very comfortable here and would certainly return for another stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

962 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    608
    289
    36
    16
    13
See reviews for
126
367
53
187
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Just spent the night at the Radisson after attending a business meeting there. Facilities for the meeting were very good and overall I was pleasantly surprised by the high quality of the room and breakfast. I couldn't really fault anything apart from some slow service in the bar in the evening. Overall, I will definitely stay here again and would consider it a viable option versus the Westbury, where I usually stay.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tubbercurry, Ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This hotel is ideally located for Dublin city centre visits. There is secure parking although the spaces are a little tight. The choice of breakfast foods was amazing, and all really fresh and delicious. The dinner was also superb - melt in the mouth beef which alone would be worth returning for! The bedrooms are spacious, comfortable and quiet. There always seems to be a lovely buzz from the bar. This was my second stay in this hotel, and I intend to return again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

This was the third time I’d stayed at this hotel. The first two visits were good. So let’s start with the positive points. As others have said the hotel is in a central location handy for the shopping in Grafton St. and close to restaurants, bars etc. Only meal we had in the hotel was breakfast, which was buffet style with plenty of hot and cold items to choose from, generally pretty good. Had a nightcap in the bar and coffee before we departed the next day all fine. On previous stays the rooms had been comfortable.
As a treat I had booked a ‘Junior Suite’ for my wife and I. My wife arrived before me and checked in. I arrived later to find the room freezing cold and very disappointing for a supposed Junior Suite. There was a sofa but it was stuck between the end of the bed and the desk area. This was, at best, a reasonably sized double room and not as portrayed on the Radisson website. Again the website states “a private lift to the Executive Terrace on the sixth floor”, which at least implies something exclusive. We never found the private lift and the ‘Executive Terrace’ is an outside smoking area. Not much use if you’re a non-smoker in freezing February!
The heating took over 2 hours to fix, the ceiling tiles were removed and various people came and went eventually the heating was repaired with a very terse apology. No offer of anything for the inconvenience.
I had booked directly with the hotel’s website some weeks in advance. This was not a last minute booking and not a discounted room.
I mentioned both my issues when checking out but received little acknowledgement.
We stayed at The Westbury a few days later in a better equipped + larger 'standard' room for a little over 1/2 the price of the Junior Suite.

Room Tip: Don't choose a Junior Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night with girls on Sat 16 March....and watched the amazing once in a lifetime St Patrick's Day parade on Sunday 17th March. The hotel ticks all the boxes. The rooms are lovely, very comfortable and a good size. The location is very central Dublin and it's an easy walk to most places. The breakfast was a feast! I think this breakfast stands out as one of the best buffet breakfasts I have ever had. A huge choice and lots of food. The breakfast room is a stunningly elegant room...such a pleasure to have breakfast in. We had drinks at the bar and thoroughly enjoyed the ambiance. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Generally very clean and tidy hotel and very convenient for Grafton Street and the touristy bits of the city. Looks recently finished and we'll finished. Rooms are a little small but perfect for a short stay, especially if you are not going be at the hotel long.

Seems to pitch itself as a business hotel with free Wifi but the Wifi speeds are atrocious. The staff on the front desk were generally friendly and helpful however the bar staff less so. The bar didn't stock nachos or crisps or nuts and when I went to the local store to get my own snacks I wasn't allowed to then order a drink in the bar with my snacks which I thought was a bit rude. If you fancy a packet of crisps or some nuts there is a cost cutter and an off license within 3 minutes walk of the hotel. The front desk could direct you to these. Although I wasn't impressed with the staff at the bar, staff on reception were brilliant: full of really good suggestions for local restaurants and sights.

Generally a good hotel with good front desk staff. Awful Internet connection for a business hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Clean, modern, spacious room! Great location. Really close to everything. Perfect breakfast buffet! I started with an Irish breakfast and switched to scones and waffles. Marmalades and Nutella and maple syrup... I had fresh orange juice but there was also grapefruit juice, cranberry juice and apple juice. We also got a jar of coffee! I would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Dublin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Dublin

Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Dublin Hotel Dublin
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Dublin Hotel
Radisson Dublin
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel Dublin
Dublin Radisson
Address: Golden Lane, Dublin 8, Ireland (Formerly Radisson SAS)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Dublin
#7 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#16 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Dublin 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Dublin hotel's location provides guests with elite access to city centre attractions, such as Trinity College and Dublin Castle. The hotel sits at the crossroads of Golden and Chancery lanes, just steps away from popular restaurants, theatres and nightclubs. Located 12 kilometres from Dublin International Airport, this hotel offers the ideal accommodation for both business and leisure travellers.Centrally located hotel in Dublin offers convenienceThe stylish and sophisticated Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Dublin sits at the crossroads of Golden and Chancery lanes, a few steps away from popular theatres, restaurants, bars and nightclubs. Situated in the heart of Dublin, the hotel's location affords guests prime access to Trinity College, Dublin Castle and the city's famous shopping district, Grafton Street. This Dublin hotel boasts 150 spacious, well-appointed rooms and suites, in-house restaurant and bar and modern meeting facilities for 400 delegates in an ideal city centre setting.This Dublin hotel is near popular attractions and less than 12 kilometres from Dublin International Airport.The 150 spacious guest rooms and suites provide premier amenities like Free high-speed, wireless Internet access and 24-hour room service.V'n V Restaurant serves the Super Breakfast Buffet, as well asa dinner menu, offering a different culinary experience each day.Enjoy cocktails and light meals at SURE Bar, a modern and stylish Irish bar.The Vintage Room presents a selection of vintage whiskeys, spirits, wines and Champagnes and fine cuisine.Guests receive access to the on-site business centre and the nearby Iveagh Fitness Club.This city centre hotel houses 15 contemporary meeting rooms, a ballroom and two unique meeting venues on the seventh floor overlooking city centre.Secure, underground car parking is available for 60 vehicles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Rezidor, Otel, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Royal Hotel, Dublin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.