We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Merry Ploughboy Irish Music Pub

The Merry Ploughboy Irish Music Pub
Edmondstown Road | Rockbrook, Dublin Dublin 16, Ireland
+353-(0)1-4931495
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 240 nightlife in Dublin
Type: Bar/ Clubs, Concerts
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The Merry Ploughboy is the only pub in Ireland owned and managed by musicians, and it is the 'hands on' approach from the owners that makes a visit to the Merry Ploughboy the highlight of many people's trip to Ireland. The two hour Irish music & Irish dancing show (which takes place nightly at the pub) has been awarded "Best Dinner/Entertainment Event in Ireland" and the pub is the current "Music Pub of the Year” in Ireland. Owners and musicians, The Merry Ploughboys, have been performing together for 22 years making their show the longest running show in Ireland hosted continuously by the same performers. The pub is located about 20 minutes south of Dublin City centre with complimentary car parking. It is easily accessed by taxi or if you are staying in the city centre we recommend our shuttle transfer service (just 5.50 euro return fare). The transfer by luxury executive coach offers an elevated view of the scenic Southside of Dublin city. After the show, the coach will drop you back as close as practical to your accommodation. Reservations are essential, however online bookings for the dinner & show (and shuttle transfer if required) can be made in real-time on our own website. We operate a "ticketless" booking system. You will receive a unique booking reference number on your email receipt and our floor manager will have all your details when you arrive at the pub.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Springfield, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

The Merry Ploughboy far and away exceeded our expectations. The food was very good (highly recommend the lamb), the service was efficient and cordial and the environment upbeat, setting the stage for a night of fun.
It is the music and humor that really surprise you. We expected that we'd enjoy the evening, but the quality of the music, especially the vocals, we're far superior to what we expected.
Thank you for a great evening and memories that will last a lifetime!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    280
    82
    11
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great Take!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

This was definitely one of the highlights of our recent trip to Ireland. I had expected good Irish fun but what surprised me was the talent of each one of the group members - they had excellent voices and witty banter. The food was also quite good - this was a great take!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bideford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Highlight of a visit to the Emerald Isle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

This lively evening brings together the joy and warmth of the Irish in music and dance, accompanied by food of the highest quality considering the numbers who are served with skill and courtesy. Singers put their heart into their welcome and emotion to match the stories in song, while Dancers transform a small stage into something out of "River Dance".
There is good live music wherever one goes in Ireland, but miss The Merry Ploughboys and you will not have experienced the best, and all under one hospitable roof. We left wishing the night would never end.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The Real Deal...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Having seen this place advertised on the inflight magazine on a recent trip home from Australia, I made a mental note to check it out and thankfully I was in the vicinity by chance when The Merry Ploughboy Pub cropped up like a shining beacon along the roadside.
Whilst it can be difficult not to feel like a tourist in your home town - I really appreciated being able to engage my travelling companion in an authentic experience beyond the pubs of Temple Bar, bus tour stops and the like. We were there on a Wednesday and couldn't believe how busy it was for mid-week. Had a couple of beers downstairs before the show upstairs where we were cordially & efficiently seated by a friendly member of staff. Entertainment & dinner were as excellent as I'd hoped. It's been a while since I had stew like that !
I would recommend you book, I was caught off guard thinking mid-week might be quiet, not sure what it would be like at w/ends.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Great entertainment and great food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

Very good local performers. Warm, friendly show. Impressive dancers. The food was also excellent. Service was efficient and friendly and unobtrusive.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Merry Ploughboy Irish Music Pub also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to The Merry Ploughboy Irish Music Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Merry Ploughboy Irish Music Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Merry Ploughboy Irish Music Pub to your Saves list