We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best night out in Ireland.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Merry Ploughboy Irish Music Pub

The Merry Ploughboy Irish Music Pub
Edmondstown Road | Rockbrook, Dublin Dublin 16, Ireland
+353-(0)1-4931495
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 242 nightlife in Dublin
Type: Bar/ Clubs, Concerts
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The Merry Ploughboy is the only pub in Ireland owned and managed by musicians, and it is the 'hands on' approach from the owners that makes a visit to the Merry Ploughboy the highlight of many people's trip to Ireland. The two hour Irish music & Irish dancing show (which takes place nightly at the pub) has been awarded "Best Dinner/Entertainment Event in Ireland" and the pub is the current "Music Pub of the Year” in Ireland. Owners and musicians, The Merry Ploughboys, have been performing together for 22 years making their show the longest running show in Ireland hosted continuously by the same performers. The pub is located about 20 minutes south of Dublin City centre with complimentary car parking. It is easily accessed by taxi or if you are staying in the city centre we recommend our shuttle transfer service (just 5.50 euro return fare). The transfer by luxury executive coach offers an elevated view of the scenic Southside of Dublin city. After the show, the coach will drop you back as close as practical to your accommodation. Reservations are essential, however online bookings for the dinner & show (and shuttle transfer if required) can be made in real-time on our own website. We operate a "ticketless" booking system. You will receive a unique booking reference number on your email receipt and our floor manager will have all your details when you arrive at the pub.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Queensland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Best night out in Ireland.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

This was the last night we had in Ireland and a surprise as this was our second choice! Thank goodness we lucked in! What a fantastic night of good food and wonderful music and dance. Please go and see this if you're in Dublin! A MUST SEE!!!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    286
    83
    12
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Food &Friendly Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

Had lunch here and was lovely the food was all freshly cooked and would definitely recommend the wings and beef and Guinness pie. Well worth a visit

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banstead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Superb evening, with food as good as the music and dancing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

On a previous visit to Dublin we'd wanted to see some Irish dance, and tried the Arlington. (That was okay, but a bit tacky, and food mediocre.) Having studied the websites we pre-booked an evening at the Merry Ploughboy: on peak days you probably need to pre-book, and we were glad we did. Well worth the taxi-ride out of Dublin: a superb evening. First surprise: only about 6 Brits in the audience (not that that mattered), this seems to be on the coach trip circuit and most punters were Scandis, Americans, French, you name it. Food quite superb, and very copious (unlike the Arlington): even our rugby-playing son could hardly finish his beef. The band are excellent, even by Irish standards: the dancing likewise (esp the boys), though it would have been nice to see more of it. Only regret was that we failed to realise the band would start playing again in the downstairs bar: by then we'd booked our taxi back into the city.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very good but very corporate”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Great place, lovely food and very good entertainment. Only negative comment would be that the whole experience felt a little bit too “corporate “ and “touristy”... i.e. like going to the Moulin Rouge if you visit Paris.
Nevertheless if you have only one night in Dublin and want to experience the “typical” pub+music thing in Dublin go there. Mind you it’s quite far from the centre of Dublin.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Traditional Irish Music Pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

If you visit this event get ready to Laugh Dance Clap and be VERY entertained by amazing music and dance!

Fantastic food drink and fun!
The Merry Ploughboys get everyone involved and moving around after the meal which is Irish Traditional Fare...My Lamb was fall off the bone delicious! the portions are large so do not eat before lol!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Merry Ploughboy Irish Music Pub also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to The Merry Ploughboy Irish Music Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Merry Ploughboy Irish Music Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.