We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food &Friendly Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Merry Ploughboy Irish Music Pub

The Merry Ploughboy Irish Music Pub
Edmondstown Road | Rockbrook, Dublin Dublin 16, Ireland
35314931495
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Merry Ploughboy is the only pub in Ireland owned and managed by musicians, and it is the 'hands on' approach from the owners that makes a visit to the Merry Ploughboy the highlight of many people's trip to Ireland. The two hour Irish music & Irish dancing show (which takes place nightly at the pub) has been awarded "Best Dinner/Entertainment Event in Ireland" and the pub is the current "Music Pub of the Year" in Ireland. Owners and musicians, The Merry Ploughboys, have been performing together for 25 years making their show the longest running show in Ireland hosted continuously by the same performers. The pub is located about 20 minutes south of Dublin City centre with complimentary car parking. It is easily accessed by taxi or if you are staying in the city centre we recommend our shuttle transfer service (just 7.50 euro return fare). The transfer by luxury executive coach offers an elevated view of the scenic Southside of Dublin city. After the show, the coach will drop you back as close as practical to your accommodation. Reservations are essential, however online bookings for the dinner & show (and shuttle transfer if required) can be made in real-time on our own website. We operate a "ticketless" booking system. You will receive a unique booking reference number on your email receipt and our floor manager will have all your details when you arrive at the pub.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Food &Friendly Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Had lunch here and was lovely the food was all freshly cooked and would definitely recommend the wings and beef and Guinness pie. Well worth a visit

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 7Mcmea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Banstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Superb evening, with food as good as the music and dancing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

On a previous visit to Dublin we'd wanted to see some Irish dance, and tried the Arlington. (That was okay, but a bit tacky, and food mediocre.) Having studied the websites we pre-booked an evening at the Merry Ploughboy: on peak days you probably need to pre-book, and we were glad we did. Well worth the taxi-ride out of Dublin: a superb evening. First surprise: only about 6 Brits in the audience (not that that mattered), this seems to be on the coach trip circuit and most punters were Scandis, Americans, French, you name it. Food quite superb, and very copious (unlike the Arlington): even our rugby-playing son could hardly finish his beef. The band are excellent, even by Irish standards: the dancing likewise (esp the boys), though it would have been nice to see more of it. Only regret was that we failed to realise the band would start playing again in the downstairs bar: by then we'd booked our taxi back into the city.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very good but very corporate”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Great place, lovely food and very good entertainment. Only negative comment would be that the whole experience felt a little bit too “corporate “ and “touristy”... i.e. like going to the Moulin Rouge if you visit Paris.
Nevertheless if you have only one night in Dublin and want to experience the “typical” pub+music thing in Dublin go there. Mind you it’s quite far from the centre of Dublin.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank AndreaLondon76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Traditional Irish Music Pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

If you visit this event get ready to Laugh Dance Clap and be VERY entertained by amazing music and dance!

Fantastic food drink and fun!
The Merry Ploughboys get everyone involved and moving around after the meal which is Irish Traditional Fare...My Lamb was fall off the bone delicious! the portions are large so do not eat before lol!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robin07Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuusula, Finland
Level Contributor
136 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Best parts of Irish culture put together for this event”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

This is very touristic and show off, but lovely way to get nice and quick snap of the culture. Music of course was great and band just lovely, they did very good job to get audience to involve to the show. Dancers amazed all of us and about that part of the show we were talking about days after. And what can I say about food, brilliant! Lamb was best than I have had for long time, chowder and apple tart were pretty good too. This is a great show and worth to see and money well spend I would say. I booked tickets through the website and bus is organized to pick up from the city if required, so location of this attraction is not an excuse for missing great night out.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank mambochick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Merry Ploughboy Irish Music Pub also viewed

 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to The Merry Ploughboy Irish Music Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing